Author Topic: Keyboard enthusiast from the valley  (Read 1227 times)

Offline kprav33n

Keyboard enthusiast from the valley
« on: Fri, 05 December 2014, 01:37:17 »
Hello everyone,

I'm Praveen Kumar. I'm from San Jose, CA. I'm a software engineer, who breaks and fixes code for living. I've been using computers for almost 22 years now. But, my keyboard enthusiasm hadn't started until 4 years ago, when I first learned to touch type on a Dvorak keyboard layout. Until then, I used to be an evolved hunt & peck typist with a decent speed, who looks at the keyboard on and off. I've come a long way since I started to touch type.

I'd been using Apple Bluetooth keyboard for quite a while. In search of a good keyboard that is easy on my broad shoulder frame, I switched to Kinesis Freestyle. I was happy with it until I laid my hands on some of the keyboards with Cherry MX switches. Then, I moved to a Code keyboard with Cherry MX Green at my work. I really fell in love with the mechanical switches, and I said to myself that there is no going back. I bought a Code keyboard with Cherry MX Clear switches for my home. But, I still felt that lack of split layout was kind of a deal breaker.

After a while, I really missed the convenience of a split keyboard layout. The only two options (split mechanical) that I saw available for me were Kinesis Advantage, and Ergodox. I didn't like Cherry MX Brown switches that much. At the same time, I was thrilled about the idea of building my own keyboard. Thus, I ordered an Ergodox from Massdrop a few months ago. When I got the kit, I was like a kid on Christmas morning. I assembled it in about 6 hours and have been using it at work since then. When I'm not at work, I type on the inbuilt keyboard on my Macbook. Sometimes, it throws me off a little bit to switch back and forth. I just ordered another Ergodox kit last week so that I can have one at home.