Author Topic: Wooden Mechanical Keyboard  (Read 2975 times)

Offline Transparant

Wooden Mechanical Keyboard
« on: Fri, 12 December 2014, 17:38:42 »
Hello everyone,

I am planning on making my own mechanical keyboard with my grandpa. My plan is to make this keyboard completely out of wood. There are a couple of questions I want to ask before starting on this though!
Because I am a beginner in these kinds of activities I might ask some stupid questions, but I hope you guys can answer them.

First of all:
Hand Wired or PCB?
Will there be a noticable difference in response time between Hand Wired and PCB? (I am an osu! player so I want it as fast as possible)
I've got an "old" PCB laying around, but it has a num pad. Is it possible to remove this without breaking the PCB?
Is there a good premade PCB I could use WITHOUT a num pad (and eventually with macros)?

What kind of wood is light and still sturdy enough to be keycaps? I would prefer is to be light in color and weight. I don't want the springs to go back up too slow.
If I would even used backlights, are these in the switches or do they need to be mounted on the PCB?

These are all the questions I have so far.

Offline FrostyToast

• Litshoard
  • * Exquisite Elder
Re: Wooden Mechanical Keyboard
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 12 December 2014, 18:16:15 »
Hand Wired or PCB?
Hand wired is the easiest to do.

Will there be a noticable difference in response time between Hand Wired and PCB? (I am an osu! player so I want it as fast as possible)
There should not be any difference.

I've got an "old" PCB laying around, but it has a num pad. Is it possible to remove this without breaking the PCB?
Depending on where the controller is located, yes. If the numpad area does not have the controller, it might be fine. Dorkvader knows everything about this kind of stuff.

Is there a good premade PCB I could use WITHOUT a num pad (and eventually with macros)?