Author Topic: Desoldering Problems (Leopold FC600M)  (Read 1393 times)

Offline HamsterDog

Desoldering Problems (Leopold FC600M)
« on: Sun, 25 January 2015, 22:55:30 »
Hey all,

I recently bought a Leopold FC600M from Massdrop to lug around to use with the Macbook. I immediately tried to take it apart to get to work on lubricating the red switches I chose with it. Only a couple months ago I completely desoldered a 104-key Rosewill, lubed the switches, soldered it all back together, and had zero problems doing so. No complications, everything and all 104 keys worked fine.

Fast forward to [attempting] to desolder the Leopold. Out of 8 or so switches I tried to desolder, I was only able to successfully do one. After failing horribly, I soldered everything back together before I got too aggressive or frustrated and burned something into disrepair. Mind you I am not an engineering student or anything of the sort...I taught myself via YouTube how to solder to the extent necessary to successfully do the Rosewill.

The majority of the leads I was trying to desolder seemed to get hot, liquefy, and then seemed to "sink" into the PCB, for lack of a better explanation. The solder was definitely liquefying, but I absolutely could not suck it up with either the 2-in-1 bulb pump desoldering iron, or the separate pump action desoldering pump I have.

Anyone have any experience / tips / suggestions that might help me out? Anything would be appreciated!
« Last Edit: Sun, 25 January 2015, 23:07:32 by HamsterDog »

Offline Melvang

• Exquisite Lord of Bumfluff
  • * Maker
  • Melvang's Desktop Customs
Re: Desoldering Problems (Leopold FC600M)
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 25 January 2015, 23:00:51 »