Author Topic: A little web developer question  (Read 1023 times)

Offline Fragil1ty

• Abre los ojos.
A little web developer question
« on: Wed, 28 January 2015, 12:25:18 »
I'm a web developer and finished university in June/July of '13, since then I've been in a few web developer jobs but I've mainly been doing a fair bit of freelancing through word of mouth, facebook, pph, elance etc.

My question is this, I've recently gone back through some of my portfolio work and I've noticed that unbeknownst to me, two of the people that I have done work for about .. 8 months ago have gone ahead and re-designed their Wordpress websites and my design is no more, is this to mean that I should remove their work off my portfolio as it's no longer creditable? If so, what should I put in their place, like should I not mention that I did this work, should I put an older image of the site that I did but have no link to that website?

Kind of new to this whole thing and not sure what I should replace this with at this moment in time.

你搞砸了

Offline Oobly

• * Esteemed Elder
Re: A little web developer question
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 28 January 2015, 12:42:10 »
I'd keep it in your portfolio with images of the older site and no link, after all you did do the work and you want the closest representation of the result of your own work.

As your portfolio grows you can trim out the less impressive or interesting ones and leave just a mention of them in your CV's work experience section.
Buying more keycaps,
it really hacks my wallet,
but I must have them.

Offline rowdy

• HHKB Hapster
  • * Erudite Elder
  • Missed another sale.
« Reply #2 on: Thu, 29 January 2015, 19:34:15 »
Might depend on why the redesigned - were they satisfied with your work?  If they were, as Oobly suggested, keep it in your portfolio with some pictures.