Author Topic: Whoops - can row 1 keys be used as the gaming keys?  (Read 651 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Doppelganger

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 31
  • Location: Tampa Bay, FL
  • Ducky DK9008G2 Pro, PBT dye subs - Cherry Browns
Whoops - can row 1 keys be used as the gaming keys?
« on: Sat, 21 February 2015, 20:36:17 »
I just ordered up some frosted blue translucent keys https://keycapsdirect.worldsecuresystems.com/products/translucent-keys/translucent-frosted-top-dcs-keys for the WASD gaming keys on my Ducky, but didn't realize they were row 1 keys. Can they still be used as gaming row keys, or are they going to feel really strange? I am a bit of a noob when it comes to keyboard customization, so I may have goofed on this one. If I can't use them, maybe I can switch the order out for row 2 and 3 gaming keys. Unfortunately they don't seem to carry the frosted blue in those rows though...
- There's never enough time to do all the nothing you want

Offline Puddsy

  • nice
  • * Elated Elder
  • Posts: 11555
  • Location: RSTLN E
  • "Do you shovel to survive, or survive to shovel?"
Re: Whoops - can row 1 keys be used as the gaming keys?
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 21 February 2015, 20:41:01 »
iunno, try it and see how it feels

everyone's different
QFR | MJ2 TKL | "Bulgogiboard" (Keycon 104) | TGR Alice | Qlavier Ti/Acryl Alice (lost in mail T_T) | Revo One | z

if you're actually reading other people's posts on geekhack in 2020 you're doing something wrong

"Everything is worse, but in a barely perceptible and indefinable way" -dollartacos | "Is Linkshine our Nixon?" -NAV (fk u) | "Puddsy is the puddsy of keebs" -ns90

Offline Doppelganger

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 31
  • Location: Tampa Bay, FL
  • Ducky DK9008G2 Pro, PBT dye subs - Cherry Browns
Re: Whoops - can row 1 keys be used as the gaming keys?
« Reply #2 on: Sun, 22 February 2015, 09:08:18 »
no other opinions on this? Anyone who has tried it before?
- There's never enough time to do all the nothing you want

Offline vindaon

  • Posts: 130
  • Location: Texas
  • ENTRY LEVEL
Re: Whoops - can row 1 keys be used as the gaming keys?
« Reply #3 on: Sun, 22 February 2015, 15:28:40 »
Nope, never tried it before. But you can just test it out right now, you know? Just swap the row 1 keys you already have and put 'em in your wasd cluster.

Play around for 5 mins, and bam, you know if it feels too weird or not.
« Last Edit: Sun, 22 February 2015, 15:39:13 by vindaon »