Author Topic: Datadesk news  (Read 1461 times)

Offline NathanA

Datadesk news
« on: Mon, 31 August 2009, 20:53:27 »
Hey all, newbie here.

Brief "about me": Network engineer for a regional ISP.  Always been picky about my keyboard, but only recently started getting into the "mechanical keyboard scene."  Use a 1999 IBM-UK-manufactured Model M (42H1292) @ work and have been loving every keystroke.  Favorite laptop keyboard was the NMB model in my ThinkPad T42p, but the T60p Alps (manufactured the keyboard, not switches in the keyboard...if only!) I currently have isn't too shabby either.  Found this forum while shopping around for a keyboard for my Mac Mini. :)

Anyway, yeah: need a good keyboard for the Mini, and although I love me some Model Ms, I wanted something more Mac-centric.  Got wind of the Apple Extended Keyboards several months ago, and actually remember having used them before many, many moons ago, and decided that's what I wanted.  I've been shopping for a mint-condition one ever since, with varying degrees of dedication on my part at different times.

Finding an AEK or AEK-II (would rather the AEK as I actually prefer my keystrokes to be audible) in excellent condition for a reasonable price (or even for an unreasonable price!) has been frustratingly difficult, so I started looking around for other options, and heard about the DataDesk Mac-101e.  I read iMav's thread and his account of trying to purchase one from them, and after a brief PM exchange with him, decided I would give them a call and try to see if they would let me place an order.

They did (though the price is now $99...ouch :( better be worth it...), although the person that I was speaking to (forgot to get his name) seemed really surprised that I would actually want one of these old 'boards, and even tried to talk me out of it a few times during the course of the conversation.  But I persisted.