Author Topic: Data911 MDS2000 Keyboard by TG3 Electronics  (Read 4047 times)

Offline partyanimallighting

Data911 MDS2000 Keyboard by TG3 Electronics
« on: Mon, 16 March 2015, 19:17:31 »
Hi guys,

I am a lighting designer and I've run into a keyboard issue and I need your help and input. I've been searching for a backlit PS/2 keyboard to work with a Leprecon LP-X24 lighting console which has a PS/2 connector for mouse and keyboard and VGA out for an ELO touchscreen monitor. I wanted a durable keyboard that would stand up to the rigors of touring etc. so I purchased a DATA911 MDS2000 keyboard/touchpad which has the backlit option and is all metal construction. Here's the issue. I just hooked it up to the console and switched it on and the keyboard lit up and seemed to be functioning properly so I tested it further. The touchpad worked fine but the keyboard functions erratically, some keys do not function at all and every key that does function does not output correctly eg: if I type the letter A it might output a number or an asterisk or something like that. This keyboard will be perfect for me for this line of work and I would really like to get it to function properly. I am technically inclined and can open up this keyboard, switch around wires, resolder or switch around jumpers if necessary but I'll need some advice on this from the pros, you guys.

Can anyone help?

Offline intelli78

Re: Data911 MDS2000 Keyboard by TG3 Electronics
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 16 March 2015, 19:21:22 »
First step: test it with another computer to determine if the keyboard is simply defective.
« Last Edit: Mon, 16 March 2015, 19:26:04 by intelli78 »
Please consider carefully before you decide to comment, for Jesus.

Offline heedpantsnow

• * Esteemed Elder
  • Old enough to know better
« Reply #2 on: Mon, 16 March 2015, 19:55:32 »
I had one of these and never had any problems. There are enough of them on eBay that it shouldn't be hard to replace if it's defective.
I'm back.