Author Topic: Poker 2 half plate mod  (Read 2235 times)

Offline Fnzzy

Poker 2 half plate mod
« on: Mon, 23 March 2015, 10:53:35 »
Ever since I saw the half plate of the Cheat I wanted to try it out and see if it feels any different. Seeing a 356 Mini with a half plate convinced me to make my own.

This is the documentation of the process that I went through to create my own half plate using the original plate from an ISO version of the Poker 2. Sadly I only have photos of the finished product since I am sort of in the middle of moving and my camera was already at my new place. Also, reading this build log after I wrote it I can finally say I have proof that I am a terrible writer! ;D

Tools I used for this mod
  • Rotary tool "Dremel 3000"
  • Blade and sanding disc attachment for the rotary tool
  • Hand files (big and small)
  • Sanding paper with grit 40/120/400

First step: Cutting

First I screwed the plate into a jaw vice to keep it steady during the process. I used the rotary tool to cut out the middle part of the plate where the alphas are, leaving only the number row and the modifiers. I tried to cut as much off as I could and as close to the "horizontal line" of the plate as possible so I don't have to file away that much afterwards. Be careful here and wear safety goggles since sparks will fly! This part is rather self-explanatory though, just cut the plate where it connects to the outer part.

Second step: Sanding

This was the longest part of the process. There were still pointy spikes from inaccurate cutting so I used a sanding disc attachment on my rotary tool to file them down. I used the same attachment to remove roughly 1.5mm from the inside of the plate to make the frame more narrow, since the switches were still laying on top of the plate with one side. After that I used the hand files to get into smaller places and to file everything sort of even, which didn't work that well with the rotary tool.