Author Topic: Hello from England  (Read 1009 times)

Offline biff

Hello from England
« on: Sat, 28 March 2015, 10:48:49 »
Hello from Blighty!

Over the past few weeks I've read many GH posts as I tried to decide which keyboard model should be by first mechanical keyboard. I'm a software developer by day (and often into the evening) and an occasional gamer by night so I spend quite a bit of time at the keyboard. At home I've used an old Saitek Eclipse II for the past few years but it was definitely past its use-by date. It's a Dell at work (possibly a KB212-B).

When I started my research, I didn't know how difficult my decision would be!

I was originally leaning towards browns as the choice of switch for my first mechanical keyboard but then I decided to order a Cherry switch sampler kit. Although it may not be truly representative of switches mounted in an actual keyboard, it did help my decision. The brown switch didn't feel as tactile as I was expecting and I'm currently typing this post on a Filco Majestouch-2 TKL with blues that only arrived a couple of hours ago... (It's also my first TKL.) I would've preferred the ninja version but there wasn't any availability and I didn't want to wait any longer! However, I might look at replacing the keycaps at some point in the future although PBT ISO keycaps don't seem too easy to come by.

Of the non-clicky switches, the clear was my favourite. I want to replace my work keyboard so I think I might take my new Filco into work at some point to see if the noise annoys anyone. If it does then I'd prefer to get a keyboard with clears but it looks like that would limit me to a WASD v2, which would be approaching the cost of a Topre by the time I add the shipping and import costs...

Anyway, I think that's enough waffling for now!

Offline rowdy

• HHKB Hapster
  • * Erudite Elder
  • Missed another sale.
Re: Hello from England
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 29 March 2015, 04:32:36 »
Welcome to Geekhack!