Author Topic: Dealing directly with Cherry?  (Read 1583 times)

Offline kw71

Dealing directly with Cherry?
« on: Fri, 11 September 2009, 03:13:56 »
Hi guys.  I have been using the same 71G4644 for almost 15 years.  I'm getting old now and it's time for something better.

I used to have a BS Model M in the garage, and that started to hurt my hands, and it broke, so I tossed it when I moved.  I really like the buckling spring, and if its heaviness didn't hurt me I would be talking to Unicomp.  A Cherry based keyboard may suit me well.

First of all, I would like to try the blue and brown to see if I can determine which I prefer without buying a whole keyboard.  Has anyone had luck getting MX keyswitch samples from Cherry?

Another important item is that I need a Cyrillic layout now, and am tired of the stickers.  Cherry has several that will be suitable, such as RB and RG, but for a G80-3000 keyboard, this is probably some kind of special order option.  Has anyone approached them about this before?

If I could find the G80-3000 with the housing and switch colors I prefer, would they sell me a set of keycaps?

Even if I had to buy ten complete keyboards, I am reasonably certain that I could sell the remainder, as long as they do not cost $200 each.  I just want to know where to start with them.

I'm in the United States.

Offline sixty

• http://deskthority.net
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 11 September 2009, 03:25:00 »
Quote from: kw71;116910
First of all, I would like to try the blue and brown to see if I can determine which I prefer without buying a whole keyboard.  Has anyone had luck getting MX keyswitch samples from Cherry?

I don't think Cherry would send you single switch samples.. however you can order single switches at DigiKey: http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail&name=CH196-ND

Personally I don't think going for single switches is a good idea to really test out a switch.. I think you need to type on it properly to judge it.