Author Topic: hey  (Read 901 times)

Offline xeronu

• https://0w.nz
    • xero.nu
hey
« on: Mon, 18 May 2015, 15:59:52 »
i'm xero,
a programmer from pittsburgh pa.

i type for a living so i'm interested in learning more about mechanical keyboards. i have used a few already (i have a vintage ibm clicky from my first job) but want to learn more.

i currently use a kenesis freestyle vip full split keyboard. it's really nice - design wise. but the keyboard feedback is really lame. i'm interested in the ergodox (very similar design) but idk if my soldering skills are up to par. any suggestions for other full split keyboards?

i've also used a pok3r, but it felt *REALLY* small, and hurt my wrists. how do you "guys" type on those little boards?

anyway, just saying hello.
« Last Edit: Mon, 18 May 2015, 16:20:30 by xeronu »

Offline nickheller

• Cherry ML life
  • * Destiny Supporter
    • hickneller.com
Re: hey
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 20 May 2015, 21:38:21 »
Welcome! You could always look in the classifieds for a already assembled ergo dox. You could also buy a kinesis advantage which has the split layout and is available pre assembled, it is just way too big for my liking. I like the small keyboards mostly because it allows my mouse to be right next to the keyboard.

Offline rowdy

• HHKB Hapster
  • * Erudite Elder
  • Missed another sale.
Re: hey
« Reply #2 on: Sat, 23 May 2015, 23:06:36 »
Welcome to Geekhack!

There is a wiki page listing people and companies that provide keyboard assembly services - that would be another option to follow up.

I guess if you are used to a split keyboard, then going back to a non-split layout would feel uncomfortable.  I haven't tried a split layout, and seem to cope reasonably well with the varied plethora of conventional layout keyboards I have.