Author Topic: Cherry browns vs. blues  (Read 5165 times)

Offline mech

Cherry browns vs. blues
« on: Mon, 21 September 2009, 13:41:04 »
So my Das Keyboard II (the one made by Cherry, not Costar) has a bouncing key.  (I get repeats, like this eeexample.) I've got a support ticket out, but it's long past my warranty coverage.  Who knows if I'll even get a response.  This puts me back in the keyboard market. (TL;DR at bottom.)

(Brief digression: hi!  This is my first post.  I'm happy to find a community of people that care about their keyboards.  As a software engineer I basically have to type all day, so I'm very fussy about good keyboard design.  I've personally seen huge speed differences between domes, scissors, and mechanical switches, not to mention comfort and... okay, preaching to the choir.  Point is, you guys rock, and now I'm joinin' up.)

I've been doing a lot of research.  A lot of my google searches end up coming back here. :) I'm leaning towards getting a Filco; 104 or tenkeyless I'm not sure.  But the nagging question in my head is: blue or brown.

I love me the buckling spring.  I have two model Ms at home (along with some fun "rescue" stories on how I got them).  The BS is just too loud for the office, though.  And perhaps a little too stiff, but that's debatable.  I liked the blue switches in my Das II.  They are a little light for my taste; the high frequency clicking wasn't ideal but at least it was there.  However, I looked at the response curve of the brown switches.  Turns out that Cherry calls these switches "ergonomic" for a reason - the actuation is before the tactile point, so by the time you're feeling it you can let go.  According to Cherry's own charts, the blue doesn't have such love due to the extra click mechanism that gets put into it.