Author Topic: Arduino Uno and TMK  (Read 5870 times)

Offline Henk

Arduino Uno and TMK
« on: Thu, 18 June 2015, 06:35:33 »
Hello, I have an Arduino Uno that I would like to load TMK on but I am a total newbie when it comes to AVR and I cant find anything that will help me.

I have two ATmega328p chips which is supported by TMK according to the wiki and one uno board but no programmers
there is http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ArduinoISP this but i don't understand how to use this to load TMK

What I want to do in the future is a complete keyboard pcb.
I don't really care if its an ATmega328p so feel free to point me to any direction that lets me load TMK to a bare chip.
I've looked around a bit and the McHck seems interesting but its not in the list of supported TMK chips so Im not sure it would work.

Offline flabbergast

Re: Arduino Uno and TMK
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 18 June 2015, 07:09:27 »
First of all, since you don't write what are you trying to achieve, let's make this clear: you can flash TMK firmware to an arduino uno, but Uno will not appear as a keyboard to the computer - atmega328p lacks USB connectivity, and on an Uno board it is connected to the computer via another "USB-to-serial" chip.

If you still want to proceed, compile the TMK firmware, and then you can flash the resulting hex file to arduino using avrdude. Here's a guide: https://typeunsafe.wordpress.com/2011/07/22/programming-arduino-with-avrdude/

There is a way to have an atmega328p pretend to be a USB keyboard to the computer, but it requires the bare m328p chip to be connected to USB using a different circuitry than the one that's present on an Uno. Furthermore, the USB protocol will be only bit-banged (i.e. no hardware support on m328p's side), so it will only support USB 1.1 (which means, for instance, that the mouse keys won't work in TMK). If you want to see the minimal circuit, have a look here: http://matrixstorm.com/avr/tinyusbboard/