Author Topic: Noob question about ARM microcontrollers  (Read 3268 times)

Offline VinnyCordeiro

Noob question about ARM microcontrollers
« on: Fri, 17 July 2015, 10:43:08 »
I'm thinking about making the move to ARM microcontrollers. I've been working with Atmel mcu's since 2007 and I'm fairly familiar with them (but in no way I'm an expert, far from that): Arduino, ICSP programming, USB programming using FLIP, I've tried them all successfully.

But AVR architecture is showing its limitations for some ideas I have. Problem is that I know little about ARM. I know that GCC can compile code for it, but how I flash the mcu itself? (And many other questions that I don't want to bother you with.)

If someone can link me some easy to understand resources for learning, I would appreciate. I'm intending to use Freescale MK20DX128VLF5, an ARM Cortex-M4 (the same used on Infinity keyboard).
« Last Edit: Fri, 17 July 2015, 19:43:22 by VinnyCordeiro »

Offline VinnyCordeiro

Re: Noob question about ARM microcontrollers
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 17 July 2015, 10:58:38 »
Well, my Google-fu already showed me an easy and simple answer: https://github.com/kiibohd/controller/wiki/Bootloader

I'll let the post here for future questions.

Offline flabbergast

« Reply #2 on: Fri, 17 July 2015, 11:34:09 »
Just a word of warning - the chip you mention comes blank, no bootloader, no nothing. So to flash the kiibohd bootloader, you'll need to use some kind of SWD debugger - I used bus pirate with the scripts from mchck project. After that you can of course use dfu-util over usb without any external circuitry.

Offline Findecanor

« Reply #3 on: Fri, 17 July 2015, 11:47:09 »
That chip is was on the Teensy 3.0 with bootloader.
Edit: PJRC does not sell the Teensy 3.0 any more, in favour of the Teensy 3.1 which has a MK20DX256, and the Teensy LC which has a MKL26Z64VFT4.