Author Topic: WIP: My first custom keyboard (TKL)  (Read 5857 times)

Offline mastercontrol90

WIP: My first custom keyboard (TKL)
« on: Mon, 17 August 2015, 15:45:50 »
Since I found a wreckage of a 90s terminal keyboard full of Cherry MX Black switches, I'm thinking about building a custom keyboard. I did some specs and resources research and I draw this metal + acrylic enclosure based off the phantom plate. What do you think about this kind of design? I know this is nothing fancy but hey, newbie here! If you have any questions just ask, I don't bite!:P

UPDATE 16 September 2015
Nope the project is not death, just me and my friend being really really busy. As you can see the PCB making has made some huge progress, tell us if you see something wrong with that!
111166-0

UPDATE 28 August 2015
I'm switching from a plate mounted to a pcb mounted desing. This change is necessary due to the high cost of steel and aluminium laser cutting. The first step of the design change is an adaption of our PCB to sustain typing, plus some new optimizations.
109718-1

UPDATE 26 August 2015
Thanks to the help of a friend of mine, my keyboard will probably have is own iso layout dual layer PCB with backlight LEDs support (not only on off but also on with a dimmer light). We are working hard to optimize it as much as possible!
109546-2

UPDATE 21 August 2015
I did a major overhaul of my enclosure design. While it isn't changed much aesthetically, now spacing is way more efficient and so the casing is overall smaller (370 mm x 165 mm) and more elegant.

109058-3109060-4
109062-5109066-6
******Older design******
More
3D render of the "fully" assembled keyboard and 3D exploded sketch

109023-7

109011-8

Sizes, parts and alternative version with no acrylic cover
109009-9109013-10
109027-11109025-12

Assembled 3D sketches from different angles
109015-13109017-14
109019-15109021-16[/spoiler]
« Last Edit: Wed, 16 September 2015, 15:59:53 by mastercontrol90 »

Offline DrHubblePhD