Author Topic: Help! The polarity of LEDs  (Read 3897 times)

Offline trenzafeeds

• * Exquisite Elder
  • **** off
Help! The polarity of LEDs
« on: Tue, 01 September 2015, 18:22:17 »
Really hyped for the new Pok3r firmware update, and I'm looking to solder some of the leds from my old QF TK (and one desoldered from the Pok3r capslock) onto the PCB. All the people posting about the update are saying you have to reverse the polarity of the LEDs, and, being an electricals noob myself, I can't tell how to do this. How do I know which end is which on the LED and the PCB?
demik will never leave.

Unless he gets banned.

Offline sethk_

• Grand Master Wizard Pizza
  • * Esteemed Elder
  • www.kbdhub.com
    • My webstore
Re: Help! The polarity of LEDs
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 01 September 2015, 22:24:53 »
long leg on LEDs = positive, and on the Poker 3 they have the LED silk screen backwards. All you need to do is stick the long leg in the - side.

Offline Findecanor

« Reply #2 on: Wed, 02 September 2015, 04:35:24 »
If the LEDs are desoldered, then the legs are cut... so there is no leg that is longer than the other. :(

"Reversing the polarity" may sound like something out of Star Trek, but it is as simple as to swap + and - .

If the LEDs are somewhat transparent then you will be able to see the innards if you have good eye sight. Those innards are often a bit asymmetric and once you have figured out which legs are + and - on one LED in the pile then you should be able to find the polarity on the others as well.

Or you could build a LED tester. Connect a 3V battery pack, a resistor and two empty terminals in series. Then test the LED against those terminals to figure out which direction works. The resistor is necessary to not burn the LED.
I dunno about the value of the resistor though ... You could check a web site that sells LEDs what the LEDs are rated at, then google for a "LED Resistor calculator".
🍉

Offline MJ45

• HHKB Pro