Author Topic: Heya! New Guy Here  (Read 3602 times)

Offline Muffinbottoms

Heya! New Guy Here
« on: Mon, 14 September 2015, 00:07:48 »
Howdy GH!

I've been living that peasant rubber dome keyboard life up until this year (only took me 22 years to discover these majestic devices) when I discovered mechanical keyboards and mechanical switches. Anything related to computers, modding/DIY, and electronics fascinate me. I pretty much needle dived head first into this hobby haha, mostly collecting and admiring the feel of different switches and keyboards. My collection so far consists of:

-IBM Model M 1390131 Oct 13 1988
-Infinity Board from Massdrop w/ Matias Quiet Clicks (not yet assembled)
-Vortex Pok3r w/ Cherry MX Clears
-Planck w/ Matias Clicks (not yet assembled)
-Apple AEK w/ Orange Alps SKCM (parts maybe)
-Apple Standard Keyboard w/ Salmon Alps SKCM (parts maybe)

I hope to contribute as much as possible here! I'm still new to the mechanical keyboard world, so I'll probably lurk more than I post haha :P

Offline raymogi

Re: Heya! New Guy Here
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 14 September 2015, 00:10:03 »
Welcome!

Great collection you got there :)
Please feed my addiction.

Offline inanis

• Truly Literally The Cloud
  • * Destiny Supporter
    • SEALWoodworking
« Reply #2 on: Mon, 14 September 2015, 00:23:36 »
Welcome!

With all those ALPS boards you should be sure to check out some of the current interest checks. Seems like there might finally be some decent keycap options for those switches! The Matias QC are one of my absolute favorites. I switch between the modern 60% boards and an old IBM as well. Each provides a wonderfully different experience. Of those you have tried do you have a particular favorite?