Author Topic: Building a GH60, need some info/tips.  (Read 5569 times)

Offline Toggi3

Building a GH60, need some info/tips.
« on: Tue, 20 October 2015, 20:19:42 »
So this is my first keyboard build, ever.  I am not really new to soldering, but I am new to working with soldering switches on keyboards.

I am thinking to buy this board: http://www.aliexpress.com/item/LCC-C60-PCB-Red-Board-for-for-DIY-Mechanical-Gaming-Keyboard/32469685922.html?spm=2114.01020208.3.225.Q6hKa1&ws_ab_test=searchweb201556_6_71_72_73_74_75,searchweb201527_4,searchweb201560_9

I like the above board because it appears to be populated with the necessary ICs and usb shield and dip switches, correct me please if I am wrong.  I don't want to do all that.  I just want to solder my cherry switches in and be happy.

I've bought a 60% plate and a case.  My question is, what kind of cherry switches do I buy?  plate mounted?  pcb mounted? pcb mounted with diode?

I have bought this case: http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Wholesales-Mini-Keyboard-GH60-plastic-Case-for-60-Mechanical-Gaming-Keyboard-Compatible-Poker2-Pok3r-Faceu-60/32470836306.html (will probably buy/make a better, metal one later)

and I have bought this plate: https://www.massdrop.com/buy/60-aluminum-plate

I also have a general question about the GH60 programmability: I want to have two function keys.  I don't want a dedicated caps lock key.  I want function + right shift to act as caps lock.  Is there a problem in terms of programmability for doing any of that?  I haven't been able to find anyone who did either of those things, but I haven't looked too hard either.

This is my intended layout:  http://www.keyboard-layout-editor.com/#/gists/a1c4b3f3aad8346b4e53

Please provide any tips/feedback, those who have already been here and done this.

Offline VinnyCordeiro

Re: Building a GH60, need some info/tips.
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 20 October 2015, 20:37:59 »