Author Topic: Leopold FC900R micro-Review  (Read 9109 times)

Offline djchup

• i write code
Leopold FC900R micro-Review
« on: Tue, 03 November 2015, 15:49:33 »
Full Disclosure:  This is my first time writing a keyboard review.

I ordered the Leopold model FC900RN/EBD from mechanicalkeyboards.com to use at work.  After using a ducky shine 2 with cherry blues at home for the past few years while working from home, I simply couldn't handle the HP rubber dome keyboard that was provided at my new office job.

I wanted a quiet mechanical, so browns/clears came to mind. (I've never tried Topre and while I hear good things I didn't want to spend that much without trying some first). The FC900R with Browns seemed to be exactly what I was looking for: relatively inexpensive at $119, I didn't want a flashy gamer keyboard for the office and didn't need it to be backlit, and quiet operation. 

I ordered 50A o-rings along with the FC900R, and with the O-rings, it's just as quiet as the rubber dome keyboards others around my cubicle are using. 

The quality of the keycaps is stellar, although I'm not a huge fan of the legends.  The font is pretty funky, and that's about the only bad thing I have to say about this keyboard.  The doubleshot ABS caps are much thicker than those that came on my ducky shine 2.  There is also an internal sound-dampening pad (another factor in my decision to purchase), I'm assuming underneath the PCB but I haven't opened it up to see.  My guess is that the role of the sound dampening pad is to mitigate the 'ping' noise of the plate I've heard mentioned.  All I know is that there's no audible 'ping' that I've heard. 

So, mainly because I don't know what else to talk about i'll leave it at that, I'd be happy to answer any questions you may have about this board.  (I'm only making this post as I didn't see any ownership threads or reviews for this keyboard when searching).
« Last Edit: Tue, 03 November 2015, 16:26:26 by djchup »

Offline SpAmRaY