Author Topic: I lubed my HHKB spacebar stabilizers  (Read 8722 times)

Offline Jeftha

I lubed my HHKB spacebar stabilizers
« on: Sat, 28 November 2015, 18:21:37 »
Just want to share my story, since this is the first time I lubed a keyboard. I'm still pretty new to the mechanical keyboard world and I've only had my HHKB (dental band modded) for a few months. Used to own a DAS Pro 4 MX blues.

This is how my HHKB spacebar used to sound: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B24lbkpxqzHaa3JHbnlnRmRrMXc A very annoying rattling sound. Especially on the right side.

It was horrible and it completely ruined the experience for me. I had tried reseating the spacebar in different ways, dissassembled the board to try and find out where the sound was coming from, but I was unable to figure it out. At one point I was about to just accept that my HHKB would now sound like this forever, but I couldn't let it go. So after some more research I found that perhaps lube would solve the issue. I bought some CRC Di-Electric grease.

I just took it apart and applied some lube to the stabilizer wire and clips and this is what it sounds like now: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B24lbkpxqzHaVmZrWUticm5BY2c

It sounds amazing again. I'm back into "Thock Heaven".
« Last Edit: Sat, 28 November 2015, 18:24:10 by Jeftha »

Realforce 87U 55g             HHKB Pro 2 (dental band)

Offline mashby

• ** Moderator Emeritus
  • What Up Shoney? (ツ)_/¯
    • Mashby
Re: I lubed my HHKB spacebar stabilizers
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 28 November 2015, 18:28:17 »
Welcome to GeekHack and thank you so much for sharing. The two videos really illustrate the difference and I have to agree that it is much improved-- nice job!

When things slow down, I hope to lube and dental band my HHKB in the hopes that it sounds much like what lubing your spacebar did. Have you given any thought to lubing your whole board?

Offline Jeftha

« Reply #2 on: Sat, 28 November 2015, 18:35:13 »