Author Topic: Hello! I'm new to all of this...I dont even currently own a mech...  (Read 884 times)

Offline kurple

Like everyone else here Im fascinated my mechanical keyboards. It's mainly because I love good design or ever engineered products. I also like being able ot make something your own. I've been wanting to get a mech for a while but I could never truly find one that I liked. I might eventually get a CM storm quickfire since it's so cheap..I'm thinking I'll like MX browns.

The main reason I joined this forum is because I want to build my own keyboard from the ground up. It'll be a while, im the research phase in learning how to do all of this. I've modified electric guitars so I'm no strange to solder and everything else will be a fun and welcomed challenge. I have 2 laser cutting spots near to me and one of them does work with PCBs.

I'm so in love with those sandwich wafer cases like on the GONs, Matt3o's and 22kbd. All of their design work is very inspiring to me and they make the most beautiful keyboards I have ever seen....sort of why I want to build one from the ground up.

I'm gonna shoot for 65% to 70% with an acrylic and aluminum case, alu plate. I want to make my own PCB, so hopefully I can make a very unique layout but I still want it to at least have as many keys as a 65% with maybe some additions around the edges. I'm also planning on a split space bar, of course!

I don't know anything about any of this, after I guess my design roughed out I'm gonna contact the laser cutting places and see how this all works out. Any help would be appreciated, or tips.