Author Topic: Help me getting started  (Read 1294 times)

Offline domsch1988

Help me getting started
« on: Wed, 23 December 2015, 05:51:12 »
Hey folks,

first off, i'm not sure if this is the right sub forum. It might be Keyboard, Ergo or here. Feel free to move as needed...
So, a short introduction: I joined GH a few days ago. Mainly because i learned about the Ergodox, did some research and bam, GH  :D I love this community and i find all the threads here very inspiring. Now, thats where my Problems start:

Currently i'm using a MS Sculpt Ergonomic Keyboard. It's been a pleasure so far, but i feel the need to get more ergonomic. I like the idea of a split keyboard, non staggered keys and overall a better layout. Although MS claims the Sculpt is ergonomic it really isn't. Yeah, it's split, but thats about it. The Arrow cluster and all the additional keys (Insert, Delete...) are all over the place, being hard to find. The F-Keys are horrendous. I'm an IT Professional and use these to death. Them not being proper keys is a big let down.
Additionally, the Options of changing keys and Layouts are sub par. I mean, why have a split Spacebar in the first place when you are not able to remap one to Backspace? Even the Comfort Version (non Split Sculpt) is able to do that...

Long Story short, i need something better. First thought was: no problem, i'll buy an Ergo Dox. So i thought. After realising, that kits are only available through MD, and sourcing all the Parts in Germany is 1. uber expensive and 2. near impossible i looked further. The past week i now started to think about my own design. I spend countless hours on the Keyboard Layout Editor. I now realised, that i could spend the next decade trying to come up with a layout that might work and not get anything done.

This is where i need some help. Please recommend me a keyboard. Either ready made or some kind of ready made design i can build on my own.

Needs:
- Split (either fixed or two half, latter preferred)