Author Topic: What Should My Next Keyboard Switch Be?  (Read 1691 times)

Offline Corsa1r

What Should My Next Keyboard Switch Be?
« on: Wed, 20 January 2016, 17:10:04 »
So, I'm still very new to the mech scene, I first got my first taste with a Ducky Shine 4 in April of last year with Cherry Blues on it.  I absolutely loved it, and while I have it sent in for a repair (my fault), I picked up a Ganss G.S-87 with Cherry browns.  It's also pretty stellar, after installing some nice dye-sub Ducky PBTs instead of the paper-thin ABS it came with.

I don't NEED anything else keyboard-wise, but I want to try all the things now....  I love the sound and tactility of blues, but a higher actuation force sounds nice, too. So I was looking at Cherry Green as well as Cherry Clear in parallel to the browns.  I'm not sure I want to venture into territory 'similar' to Cherry (Kailh, Gateron, Alps, etc.) at all right now, though.

Also, I have yet to ever try a Topre, and I know I don't deserve it (probably) out of the gate, but I was considering going for an HHKB, I'm very drawn to the sound and (perceived) feel of the Topres, it seems to be one of the furthest things from what I am using now.  I may get hate for it, but I really enjoy the sound of the Type-S HHKB.  I also like the look of the Realforce line.

I've used a Model M when I was younger, and did remember liking it alot, but I think I'm shelving the idea of a Unicomp or something for the time being. (Anything with Buckling Springs)

But, with all this information (and maybe you want to convince me of a switch I dismissed!), what should I opt into next?  I'm heavily leaning towards a  Topre board, ( and potentially topre clones?  Like the Royal kludge RC-930, but I am told it's nothing like the real thing).  Anyway, please give me some suggestions.  Thanks.
Ducky Shine 4 - Mx Blues // Ganss G.S-87 - Mx Browns // Type-S HHKB 45g // FC660M - Mx Reds

Offline pr0ximity

Re: What Should My Next Keyboard Switch Be?