Author Topic: 60% Keyboard + Number Pad  (Read 4577 times)

Offline 1f525

60% Keyboard + Number Pad
« on: Mon, 25 January 2016, 07:57:01 »
Noob here so if it has been asked before please point me in the right direction. Search was not my friend on this one.

So I use my computer for a lot of different things. Most of the time I do not use the number pad so it is kind of in the way and would love to have the mouse close by.

But every once in a while I do use it and would like to have it (data entry). Being left handed, I also love the idea of having it on the correct side.  ;D

Here is the analogy I have in mind:
I have a vision of the number pad being a trailer to a car. I am not hauling gravel daily so I really do not need a pickup truck, don't want to park a second vehicle and drive the extra weight. A trailer allows me to be flexible when I do need to haul gravel.

Question: Is it possible to have a 60% keyboard for 95% of the time and then use a separate number pad just when needed (5% of the time)? How does it work in terms of USB ports.

Thoughts? Pros/Cons?
Any of you have this setup?
Pictures?

Thanks!

Offline Bucake

Re: 60% Keyboard + Number Pad
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 25 January 2016, 08:09:28 »
is this a joke?
of course this is possible!

i immediately thought of the HHKB because it's a 60% keyboard with a USB hub.
if the hub can provide enough power, you could just plug it into the keyboard whenever you want to use your pad.

i've thought of it myself, but i realized that i don't use the numpad enough to justify buying one.
IBM Model F XT // Realforce 87U 55g Type-S // HHKBP2 45g Type-S // KBT Pure Pro Cherry MX Red

Offline 1f525

« Reply #2 on: Mon, 25 January 2016, 08:21:26 »
Not a joke, just a noob question. Sorry if this was a stupid question.

I was just not sure if most OS recognize 2 "keyboards" at the same time and how it is handled. I use both Windows and Linux (several distros).