Author Topic: HHKB Layout - How hard to get used to?  (Read 9554 times)

Offline ryahirv

HHKB Layout - How hard to get used to?
« on: Tue, 02 February 2016, 18:03:50 »
Hi all
I'm by NO means a programmer, but I do use the arrow keys a fair bit on my RealForce 87u.

Could anyone comment on how hard the HHKB layout is to get used to?

Anyone try it for a while and ultimately fail?
Or any other comments on it in general?

I don't use the F keys so I'm fine having those buried under the Fn key layer...I'm just curious how hard it is to get used to the arrow keys in that setup.

Thanks in advance!

Offline starscream

• I have nothing to say
Re: HHKB Layout - How hard to get used to?
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 02 February 2016, 18:12:18 »
Doesn't take long to get used to. Couple days at most.
Now it feels strange typing on a keyboard that doesn't have its backspace directly above the enter key

Only thing that still occasionally throws me off is forgetting that my Ctrl key  is now above shift when I'm really focusing on a game

Poker                                 HHKB Pro 2

Offline derb2k2

• Something of a Topre ****..
« Reply #2 on: Tue, 02 February 2016, 18:23:20 »
it took me a few days to learn the shortcuts with its layout. Make the effort and thou shalt be rewarded.

For backspace, try not to lift your pinky too much if you have to press it repeatedly. The dome will easily push it up. It's all technique.
HHKB | RF 45UB | Novatouch | Poker II Blue | QFR Browns | Rosewill RK-9000RE

Offline demik

• Pronounced "demique"
« Reply #3 on: Tue, 02 February 2016, 18:25:32 »
nah
No, he’s not around. How that sound to ya? Jot it down.

Offline iLLucionist

• * Elevated Elder
  • Topre is Love.
« Reply #4 on: Tue, 02 February 2016, 18:28:30 »