Author Topic: DELL AT102W - worth picking up?  (Read 8996 times)

Offline Fedora The Explorer

DELL AT102W - worth picking up?
« on: Mon, 15 February 2016, 13:33:33 »
I'm quite new to mechanical keyboards, as I just got my Cherry G80-3000 about 2 months ago with the MX Blue Switches. There might be an opportunity for me to pickup a dell at102w, but i'm wondering 2 things before i take the plunge. Am I going to like the ALPS switches coming from MX Blues and how much should I be paying for a used one in reasonable condition (in GBP, btw)? Thanks for the help
Current Keyboard:
Cherry G80-3000 MX Blue

Offline dgreekstallion

• B.S. Fiend
Re: DELL AT102W - worth picking up?
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 15 February 2016, 14:37:56 »
A lot of people here love Alps. I've never used one (on purpose,) so I can't tell you much else.
Recent keyboard fanatic.

Model F-122 convert.

Offline Altis

« Reply #2 on: Mon, 15 February 2016, 14:39:26 »
Welcome!

The Dell AT102/AT101 (ANSI version) are quite common. They shouldn't cost too much (ideally less than 30 GBP I would suspect).

The used an SKCM Black alps switch that is tactile but not clicky. They aren't known to be particularly good, but there are many who do enjoy them. They tend not to age all that well with use (mostly due to dust/dirt buildup rather than actual use), so if it's in rough shape, that might make for a bad buy. A newer one should feel smoother and more consistent.

I have an AT101 and the feel is pretty good actually. It isn't a notchy tactility but rather a longer hump, which is itself quite smooth. I'm not crazy about the sound of them, though, with the exception of the really old (and expensive) keyboards.

Tell me this -- what do you like most about your MX Blue?