Author Topic: Help me making a wireless numpad <3  (Read 2319 times)

Offline Turbodruk

• Down with the sickness
Help me making a wireless numpad <3
« on: Wed, 29 June 2016, 15:57:43 »
Not quite sure if this is in the good place, but here it goes.

I'm looking to make my Tesoro Kailh Brown (yuck \0/) wireless. I have no experience in soldering, desoldering, programming or knowing how to replace the switches. I have made some photo's of the pcb of the numpad. Figured it can be easily desoldered and the USB cable can be pulled through the housing, leaving me with the pcb and plate + switches. First step probably will be making it wireless using (?) Bluefruit.

If anyone can help me make it wireless, that would be greatly appreciated! :)

The next step would be swapping out the Kailh Browns and replacing them with Gateron Greens. I have no clue on how to do this, as these are plate mounted switches. I will probably have to desolder these, right?

Having replaced the switches and made it Bluetooth (one can dream, thank you very much) I am in need of a new housing. I could use the old housing but I prefer something sleeker and not gamerish. What is the best way to make a housing for this, make one out of wood or go to the local miller and have one custom made from scratch using aluminum or some other metal?

Again, sorry if this is very noobish and so on, but I can't seem to find a wireless numpad (except for the discontinued Filco Tenkeypad Bluetooth) that irks me. Having this one collecting dust here, I figured I could mod it to an extent to suit my needs. Again, all help is very appreciated, thanks!

Cherry G80-11900 Filco Minila White Ducky Mini YOTH    Filco Tenkeypad BT
Gateron Green       MX-Blue              MX-Blue             MX-Brown

Offline Data

Re: Help me making a wireless numpad <3
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 29 June 2016, 16:29:34 »
Well you're going to need a battery for starters...

Offline Turbodruk

• Down with the sickness