Author Topic: IBM M15 ergonomic buckling spring + artisan space bars  (Read 2130 times)

Offline XMIT

• formerly jsoltren
IBM M15 ergonomic buckling spring + artisan space bars
« on: Sun, 11 December 2016, 21:14:36 »
Finally, XMIT036 with the new, working replacement caps!

155215-0

XMIT036 is one of my IBM Model M15 buckling spring ergonomic split boards. Here's how it looked before this project.

155203-1

As you can tell, it is missing the left half of the Space bar. (In this photo the ball mount on the right half is also broken. I've since fixed this with 3M DP460 epoxy.)

Fortunately, I also have XMIT035, which is a complete board.

155205-2

So, I thought, why not cast a new replacement Space bar set?

This project sat on the back burner until this week. I had a business trip. Through the geekbnb network :)) I connected with the incredibly awesome ImpendingxDoom who let me crash on his couch while I was in Chicago.

Now, I've had some experience with silicone mold casting, but Doom takes it to the next level. He's had almost two years of experience doing two sided molds, while I've barely done one single sided mold. We got some great results! These are not even the best ones...

155207-3
155209-4
155211-5
155213-6

If Doom gets a chance he'll run some black and red Space bars for me!

Does anyone know where I can find some 1.25mm stainless steel wire, to fabricate a better replacement stabilizer for the left Space bar? I managed to jury-rig something using an old paper clip (1.12mm) and some Kapton tape to increase wire diameter but I'd like to do better.

Offline suicidal_orange

• * Global Moderator
Re: IBM M15 ergonomic buckling spring + artisan space bars
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 18 December 2016, 03:57:51 »
Nice restoration, in 20 years the spacebar might look original too.  A pair of black and red would look great but at least it works for now!  Not many bnbs offer such great service :))