Author Topic: Atreus 62 help (Now with beginner friendly guide)  (Read 14236 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline yensteel

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 24
Atreus 62 help (Now with beginner friendly guide)
« on: Thu, 02 March 2017, 12:53:46 »
Hi, I'm interested in being able to use and customize the atreus 62, but I don't know how to start. I've read QMK pages and they don't explain how I should connect and replace the firmware and I can only understand the keycode and script editing. can you help? I have no programming experience.

How do you insert the keyboard config? On the EZ ergodox you just use a pin and press a button and use Teensy.

I spent some time developing this config: https://www.dropbox.com/s/4zkvm6er8qp8vu5/Atreus%2060.rtf?dl=0

This is my design.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/khdhej8yr8k7gv4/Layer%200.jpg?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ry8combixnm53pp/Layer%201%20FN%20Keys.jpg?dl=0

Does the code work?

Finally, how do I compile?

Update: There's a guide that is written for complete beginners here: https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=87964.msg2396291#msg2396291

You guys should really buy the keyboard, now that its as easy to configure as the ergodox ez
« Last Edit: Tue, 04 April 2017, 07:22:25 by yensteel »

Offline cribbit

  • Posts: 288
Re: Atreus 60 help
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 06 March 2017, 18:54:28 »
http://qmk.sized.io/

Makes everything easier.
I typed this post on my Slanck. I also developed a stronger, cleaner, easier handwiring method.


Offline yensteel

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 24
Re: Atreus 60 help
« Reply #2 on: Tue, 07 March 2017, 06:51:28 »
Hey, thanks for sharing. This actually looks really nifty, should be very convenient for a lot of people. I tried to upload my config but it says its invalid. I don't know what I'm supposed to do. Is there a way to create an atreus 60 config?

Update:

Ok, I tried playing around with http://www.keyboard-layout-editor.com and copied and pasted text from "Raw data" into http://qmk.sized.io/, and it worked! All that's left for a beginner easy configuration is for Keyboard layout editor to have Aterus 60 support or someone to share the data. Thanks for the help.
« Last Edit: Tue, 07 March 2017, 06:57:58 by yensteel »

Offline FRGMNT

  • Posts: 14
  • Location: New York
Re: Atreus 60 help
« Reply #3 on: Wed, 08 March 2017, 03:16:40 »
Hey, thanks for sharing. This actually looks really nifty, should be very convenient for a lot of people. I tried to upload my config but it says its invalid. I don't know what I'm supposed to do. Is there a way to create an atreus 60 config?

Update:

Ok, I tried playing around with http://www.keyboard-layout-editor.com and copied and pasted text from "Raw data" into http://qmk.sized.io/, and it worked! All that's left for a beginner easy configuration is for Keyboard layout editor to have Aterus 60 support or someone to share the data. Thanks for the help.

Is this for the Atreus 62 from Profet? I'm waiting on mine to come in and I've been trying to figure out how to edit and flash keymaps. Tried playing around with the QMK firmware builder and I was able to upload a layout from keyboard-layout-editor, but I don't think I did it correctly because the wiring looks all wonky. I edited the row and column, along with pin information according to the config.h file under the atreus62 folder.

Offline yensteel

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 24
Re: Atreus 60 help
« Reply #4 on: Wed, 08 March 2017, 03:31:37 »
Yes, its the Atreus 62 from Profet. The QMK wiki and documentation is imo, not for beginners.

Good luck on the configuration for your new keyboard!

Offline cribbit

  • Posts: 288
Re: Atreus 60 help
« Reply #5 on: Wed, 08 March 2017, 12:50:46 »
Hey, thanks for sharing. This actually looks really nifty, should be very convenient for a lot of people. I tried to upload my config but it says its invalid. I don't know what I'm supposed to do. Is there a way to create an atreus 60 config?

Update:

Ok, I tried playing around with http://www.keyboard-layout-editor.com and copied and pasted text from "Raw data" into http://qmk.sized.io/, and it worked! All that's left for a beginner easy configuration is for Keyboard layout editor to have Aterus 60 support or someone to share the data. Thanks for the help.

Is this for the Atreus 62 from Profet? I'm waiting on mine to come in and I've been trying to figure out how to edit and flash keymaps. Tried playing around with the QMK firmware builder and I was able to upload a layout from keyboard-layout-editor, but I don't think I did it correctly because the wiring looks all wonky. I edited the row and column, along with pin information according to the config.h file under the atreus62 folder.

A number of people already handwired 62's.

The firmware builder is way easier than direct coding (even for someone good at coding), once you get used to it it's great. If you post screenshots of what's going on with your wiring we can probably help you fix it.
I typed this post on my Slanck. I also developed a stronger, cleaner, easier handwiring method.


Offline FRGMNT

  • Posts: 14
  • Location: New York
Re: Atreus 60 help
« Reply #6 on: Wed, 08 March 2017, 14:23:30 »
Yes, its the Atreus 62 from Profet. The QMK wiki and documentation is imo, not for beginners.

Good luck on the configuration for your new keyboard!

Yeah, I spent almost a day reading through the documentation to understand it and I have a few years of intermediate programming under my belt. Still don't understand it 100% yet, but I think I understand enough to make a few basic keymaps. The readme for the Atreus62 wasn't complete so I had to look at other readme's under other keyboards. I've still got quite some time left before I receive my Zealios switches so I can't put together the keyboard just yet.



A number of people already handwired 62's.

The firmware builder is way easier than direct coding (even for someone good at coding), once you get used to it it's great. If you post screenshots of what's going on with your wiring we can probably help you fix it.

Here's a picture of what my wiring looks like and some drafts of my keyboard layout. Still need to work on the format since I have quite a bit of redundancy under my FN-layer.
http://imgur.com/a/srPE7

Offline cribbit

  • Posts: 288
Re: Atreus 60 help
« Reply #7 on: Wed, 08 March 2017, 14:48:38 »


Here's a picture of what my wiring looks like and some drafts of my keyboard layout. Still need to work on the format since I have quite a bit of redundancy under my FN-layer.
http://imgur.com/a/srPE7

Oh yeah the QMK tool is pretty bad at non-standard layout default wiring. I'm actually working on some code for that right now - the magic of open source tools!

You'll need to set the row/col for every key so that it makes sense. Double check what the PCB's set is for the thumb keys, the main cols should be straightforward. Then make sure that the pin name lines up with col #.

Also, you don't have to worry about damaging the board from putting in the wrong info. I often guess and check to get the pins right.
I typed this post on my Slanck. I also developed a stronger, cleaner, easier handwiring method.


Offline FRGMNT

  • Posts: 14
  • Location: New York
Re: Atreus 60 help
« Reply #8 on: Wed, 08 March 2017, 15:54:14 »
I updated the album with what I think should be the correct wiring. I left the config.h and atreus62.h files open for reference.

http://imgur.com/a/srPE7

I've been asking around but I haven't been able to find a clear answer to this, but would there be any problems using the latest revision of the Pro Micro (v1.3)? Profet's board comes with v1.1 but I ordered the v1.3 Pro Micro. Is there any benefits with going with the latest revision, or should I try sticking to Profet's design and use v1.1? Here are the changes that I found according to the schematics.

Changes on v1.2:
Updated package on USB micro B (2 new pads)

Changes on v1.3:
Updated QFN package on 32U4 to be 1:1
Updated symbol of 32U4 in schematic (switched MISO and SS placement)
Renamed SS net to D14 (from D17)
Routed directly inward or outward from each leg on the IC
Added two small squares of tRestrict to keep the ground plane away from the sides of IC legs

Offline cribbit

  • Posts: 288
Re: Atreus 60 help
« Reply #9 on: Wed, 08 March 2017, 15:57:22 »
I updated the album with what I think should be the correct wiring. I left the config.h and atreus62.h files open for reference.

http://imgur.com/a/srPE7

I've been asking around but I haven't been able to find a clear answer to this, but would there be any problems using the latest revision of the Pro Micro (v1.3)? Profet's board comes with v1.1 but I ordered the v1.3 Pro Micro. Is there any benefits with going with the latest revision, or should I try sticking to Profet's design and use v1.1? Here are the changes that I found according to the schematics.

Changes on v1.2:
Updated package on USB micro B (2 new pads)

Changes on v1.3:
Updated QFN package on 32U4 to be 1:1
Updated symbol of 32U4 in schematic (switched MISO and SS placement)
Renamed SS net to D14 (from D17)
Routed directly inward or outward from each leg on the IC
Added two small squares of tRestrict to keep the ground plane away from the sides of IC legs

As long as it's a 32u4 chip it should be fine.
I typed this post on my Slanck. I also developed a stronger, cleaner, easier handwiring method.


Offline FRGMNT

  • Posts: 14
  • Location: New York
Re: Atreus 60 help
« Reply #10 on: Wed, 08 March 2017, 20:19:32 »
Is there any way to use mouse keys with the QMK Firmware Builder? I tried typing in the keycodes to the respective mouse keys but they don't seem to work.

EDIT: Figured it out, just needed to input the short name version into the key.
« Last Edit: Thu, 09 March 2017, 00:12:16 by FRGMNT »

Offline yensteel

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 24
Re: Atreus 60 help
« Reply #11 on: Thu, 09 March 2017, 10:53:50 »
Can you tell me what exactly is the QMK builder supposed to be uploaded with?

Offline cribbit

  • Posts: 288
Re: Atreus 60 help
« Reply #12 on: Thu, 09 March 2017, 12:02:20 »
Can you tell me what exactly is the QMK builder supposed to be uploaded with?

Under the "Settings" tab you can save your configuration to edit more later. This is what can be uploaded.
I typed this post on my Slanck. I also developed a stronger, cleaner, easier handwiring method.


Offline FRGMNT

  • Posts: 14
  • Location: New York
Re: Atreus 60 help
« Reply #13 on: Thu, 09 March 2017, 18:35:09 »
Can you tell me what exactly is the QMK builder supposed to be uploaded with?

Here's what I have for my layout so far, https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bx32Xh6avwPsbWE2NU95cnZxMzA

I'm using it more as a visual diagram for my layout while I manually edit the keymap file since there are extra features in QMK I'd like to play around with (tap-toggle layers, space cadet shift, leader key). I believe you can still get most of these features with the QMK firmware builder by using multiple fn keys on a key.

Offline yensteel

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 24
Re: Atreus 60 help
« Reply #14 on: Fri, 10 March 2017, 02:55:18 »
Can you tell me what exactly is the QMK builder supposed to be uploaded with?

Here's what I have for my layout so far, https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bx32Xh6avwPsbWE2NU95cnZxMzA

I'm using it more as a visual diagram for my layout while I manually edit the keymap file since there are extra features in QMK I'd like to play around with (tap-toggle layers, space cadet shift, leader key). I believe you can still get most of these features with the QMK firmware builder by using multiple fn keys on a key.


Hey, thanks for sharing. I used your configuration and customised it to my liking. Now I have a .json file and a .hex file from compiling. I want to use the QMK Firmware Flasher, but I'm not sure if the keyboard that I will be purchasing will have a pin hole to activate or have a reset key.



QMK Flasher here
https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=82505.0

Offline FRGMNT

  • Posts: 14
  • Location: New York
Re: Atreus 62 help
« Reply #15 on: Fri, 10 March 2017, 14:25:41 »
If you've never flashed anything onto the Pro Micro, I think it should be relatively easy to add a firmware to it. I programmed a reset switch to the last layer I was using and I believe you can use that to reset. I messaged Profet and it seems that there is a physical reset switch on the PCB with a pin hole cut out, although I have not seen a single picture which shows this.

You can probably follow the original instructions, or use that tool since the Pro Micro should automatically enter bootloader mode if you've never flashed anything onto the Pro Micro.
Here's the original instructions, and you will also need to make sure you set up the build environment correctly on your computer first:
https://github.com/profet23/atreus62/tree/master/build-guide
https://github.com/qmk/qmk_firmware/wiki/Build-Environment-Setup

Offline profet

  • Posts: 137
  • Location: Long Island, NY
Re: Atreus 62 help
« Reply #16 on: Thu, 16 March 2017, 12:36:10 »
I messaged Profet and it seems that there is a physical reset switch on the PCB with a pin hole cut out, although I have not seen a single picture which shows this.

Stealing an image from this album:  http://imgur.com/r/MechanicalKeyboards/6hPDt

Right above the "a" and "t"

Bringing custom Ergodoxes to the masses.

My heatware: http://www.heatware.com/u/102649

Offline yensteel

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 24
Re: Atreus 62 help
« Reply #17 on: Fri, 17 March 2017, 02:29:02 »
Ah, That's convenient

Offline yensteel

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 24
Re: Atreus 62 help
« Reply #18 on: Sat, 01 April 2017, 04:14:04 »
I have ordered and received the keyboard and keycaps. I'm very happy with how it feels. However, I couldn't use the QMK Flasher (The button stayed red) nor the Teensy loader. Is there anything wrong with my hex file? https://www.dropbox.com/sh/ljte3gi8ovlx6h3/AABdkqdHl9K8I2FwiDsCXyCua?dl=0

Offline profet

  • Posts: 137
  • Location: Long Island, NY
Re: Atreus 62 help
« Reply #19 on: Sat, 01 April 2017, 10:17:35 »
I use avrdude to flash pro micro based devices.

Have you tried avrdude?

Teensy loader will only work for teensy devices

I have never tried QMK flasher.
Bringing custom Ergodoxes to the masses.

My heatware: http://www.heatware.com/u/102649

Offline yensteel

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 24
Re: Atreus 62 help
« Reply #20 on: Sat, 01 April 2017, 11:48:04 »
Ok, Lets do this the hard way then.

I'll follow this guide: https://github.com/profet23/atreus62/blob/master/build-guide/README.md

I run ls /dev/tty* on my mac terminal, and plugged the keyboard in. I run ls /dev/tty* again but the result is the same. What did I do wrong? Also, I used Command prompt on windows but it doesn't recognize the instructions.

Offline profet

  • Posts: 137
  • Location: Long Island, NY
Re: Atreus 62 help
« Reply #21 on: Sat, 01 April 2017, 17:48:58 »
I don't have a Mac to test on but try reading this:

http://www.ladyada.net/learn/avr/avrdude.html

On Windows I install avrdude and the Arduino micro drivers. From there I can just put the keyboard in bootloader mode (only lasts 8 seconds) and flash with avrdude on whatever com port is shown in device manager.
Bringing custom Ergodoxes to the masses.

My heatware: http://www.heatware.com/u/102649

Offline yensteel

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 24
Re: Atreus 62 help
« Reply #22 on: Tue, 04 April 2017, 05:17:53 »
Thanks to further assistance from Profet via email, I have a successfully configured Atreus 62 keyboard. I've written a guide to help users who are considering buying this keyboard or have already bought one.Thank you profet, cribbit, and FRGMENT so much for your help. This would have been impossible without you.

This guide is made for people with no experience in programming and should assist them in configuring their new Atreus 62 keyboard. There are two main sections for this guide, Producing the HEX File and flashing the keyboard with the HEX File.

Producing the HEX file

First, get a .json file. You can download this file from FRGMNT from the geekhack forum, or mine as a start. (I didn’t make it. FRGMENT made the original. I just modified his to be simpler).

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bx32Xh6avwPsbWE2NU95cnZxMzA
https://www.dropbox.com/s/7u5jkdg3uy9w9sk/atreus62.json?dl=0


Next, you visit this site: http://qmk.sized.io/. Click on upload, and choose the .json file you downloaded.

Next, is configuration. Most of the configuration is self explanatory. You can even program combos and multimedia keys. If you don't want a key to have anything, select "NO".

If you are not sure which key code is which, use this for reference: https://github.com/qmk/qmk_firmware/wiki/Keycodes or https://github.com/qmk/qmk_firmware/blob/master/doc/keycode.txt

The tricky part is choosing how to enter the second or X layer, (You should do so because the keyboard can't have all keys on the first layer). (There are 15 layers you can use). There are a few ways to do so.

First is MO (From FN page). If you hold down this key, then you can access the other layer. if you release the key, it goes back to the previous layer. This is recommended because you won’t get lost figuring out which layer you are in, with the minor inconvenience of having to hold down the key.

Second is TO. When you press this key, it enters the selected layer and stays there after lifting the key. You have to program the second layer to also have a TO key if you want to go back, or you can have it rotate between more layers. Your choice.

Another is TG. It’s like TO but it’s more basic, where you click to enter another layer, and press again to go back.

There are other layer switching protocols but I don’t understand them yet. Sorry. If you want something else, go check out the ergodox EZ configurator site. They have a good explanation for selecting other layers by cloning a configuration and selecting a key to configure.

Once you are done, you can save a backup by going to "Settings" or compile it into a .hex file by going to the "Compile" page on the qmk compiler website.

Installing firmware onto keyboard

First, install WinAVR. Here is the link. https://sourceforge.net/projects/winavr/files/. It seems to run ok on windows 10.
 
Second, you have to find out what the port of the keyboard is at to flash the firmware. Go to device manager, and click the reset button on your keyboard (Its a hole on the back of your keyboard above the A and T label). You have 8 seconds to open up  and find the new device. It should show "arduino micro bootloader Com X". The important part is com X, like Com 3 for example.
 
Next, place your .hex file into the folder "C:\Users\Your user name" (if you don’t know how to navigate to a folder in command line) or you can navigate to your file's folder through cmd. Now, open command prompt (if you haven't) and type "avrdude -p atmega32u4 -P COM3 -c avr109 -U flash:w:file name.hex" where Com3 is the connection of your device (Could be any number) and file name is the file name of your hex file. Click reset on your keyboard again, and in 8 seconds click enter in the command line to run the code. You should know if it works when stuff starts showing and no error occurred. Now you have a newly configured Atreus 62 keyboard :D.
« Last Edit: Wed, 05 April 2017, 11:48:20 by yensteel »

Offline break

  • Posts: 212
Re: Atreus 62 help (Now with beginner friendly guide)
« Reply #23 on: Thu, 13 June 2019, 00:29:13 »
A friend loaned me an Atreus62 so I could try it out. He has used the same board on his Mac, but I'm struggling to get it set up on my 2017 Macbook Pro running Mojave.

I'm running through setup via QMK Toolkit https://docs.qmk.fm/#/newbs_flashing. The board is drawing power but the output of ls /dev/tty* does not change whether the board is plugged in or not. Hitting the reset button at the bottom seemingly puts the board into reset mode (I see a red light through the case) but QMK Toolkit does not pick it up.

When I click "Flash" the toolkit reports "  ! There are no devices available."

I'm relying on dongles™️ to connect the board to my laptop. That might be the culprit - in the system profile I only see "USB 2.0 BILLBOARD" when the board is connected. Have already ordered a micro-USB to USB-C cable.

Anyone else run into issues with a similar setup?

Offline break

  • Posts: 212
Re: Atreus 62 help (Now with beginner friendly guide)
« Reply #24 on: Fri, 14 June 2019, 21:21:11 »
A friend loaned me an Atreus62 so I could try it out. He has used the same board on his Mac, but I'm struggling to get it set up on my 2017 Macbook Pro running Mojave.

I'm running through setup via QMK Toolkit https://docs.qmk.fm/#/newbs_flashing. The board is drawing power but the output of ls /dev/tty* does not change whether the board is plugged in or not. Hitting the reset button at the bottom seemingly puts the board into reset mode (I see a red light through the case) but QMK Toolkit does not pick it up.

When I click "Flash" the toolkit reports "  ! There are no devices available."

I'm relying on dongles™️ to connect the board to my laptop. That might be the culprit - in the system profile I only see "USB 2.0 BILLBOARD" when the board is connected. Have already ordered a micro-USB to USB-C cable.

Anyone else run into issues with a similar setup?

One or more of the following things might have fixed this for me:
- I installed Arduino drivers on the machine that was running QMK firmware. https://github.com/adrianmihalko/ch340g-ch34g-ch34x-mac-os-x-driver
- I used a micro-USB to USB-C cable to plug in directly.
- I pushed in the micro-USB cable attached to the board.

Works like a charm now!