Author Topic: Seeking Input: Topre vs MX Black  (Read 13028 times)

Offline dion2k

Seeking Input: Topre vs MX Black
« on: Sun, 14 February 2010, 22:23:38 »
Well, it's about that time; preparing to drop a couple hundred. Before I put it into motion I want to get a bit of feedback because I'm not 100% sure. I've done much reading and I've narrowed it down to two choices. Here's my situation:

I'm a professional FPS gamer (quakelive/tf2), but I also play mmos in off-season. I have gathered that the MX Black is the best switch for gaming because of it's stiffness and linearity. The linearity would be nice for mmos where I press the same key repeatedly, although I don't see it helping with FPS games too much--which is what really matters here. I should also say that the stiffness is not a factor for me as I do not accidentally press keys. Typing is also important to me and I'm not going to type on a linear switch so if I go with the black for gaming I will also be getting a brown for typing. That's scenario A.

Scenario B is that I just get a Realforce and use it for typing and gaming. I guess what it really comes down to is will the mx black give me an advantage over the realforce in FPS games, taking into account that I won't be repeatedly pressing the same key and that stiffness/accidental presses is irrelevant. If the black is at all superior to the realforce given these two factors then I will be getting a black and a brown. But if the Realforce will preform as well as the black then I'd prefer to have it over a brown as I've gathered that they are slightly more pleasant.

Any input is welcome. At the moment I'm leaning towards the Realforce but I have a few days to think it over.
Realforce 87u 55g, Northgate Omnikey Ultra, IBM Model M

Offline whininggit

« Reply #1 on: Mon, 15 February 2010, 01:51:40 »