Author Topic: IBM Selectric II Inspired Unicomp Project  (Read 3057 times)

Offline malthusthomas

IBM Selectric II Inspired Unicomp Project
« on: Fri, 21 July 2017, 16:08:35 »
Hi there everyone! I'm pretty new to the world of mechanical keyboards. In fact, I don't even have a mechanical keyboard yet (I currently have an Apple wireless bluetooth keyboard)!

What I do have, is a vision inspired by the IBM Selectric II. I have an image of a tenkeyless buckling spring keyboard with spherical, sculpted keycaps and a case painted in a red, blue, or green that searches for the Selectric II inevitably pull up:

173869-0173871-1173873-2

My plan is to take a Unicomp board (I'm currently thrift shop spelunking for a model M to use, though it appears some consider it sacrilege to hack up a model M) and mod it to be TKL, paint the case and then deal with the keycaps. I've stumbled across the awesome Spherical Buckling Spring project at DT. So that sort of takes care of the keycaps (knocks on wood).

So, since I know very little, I've been doing research and am still doing research. I've bookmarked the wikis here, DT, and over on /r/mk (as well as saved stickied threads with how to or beginner oriented mod advice). I have a list of about 20 projects with Unicomp or Model M mods done by members here or at DT (I'm not sure if it would be beneficial for me to link them here or simply bothersome and cluttering) to help learn the basic steps and hiccups along the way.

Since I'm just beginning this journey, don't expect a result quickly! But I did want to make this post so that I could get feedback and advice from and simply share my idea with the community.
« Last Edit: Fri, 21 July 2017, 17:30:00 by malthusthomas »

Offline OldIsNew

Re: IBM Selectric II Inspired Unicomp Project
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 22 July 2017, 19:17:54 »