Author Topic: Does my ideal keyboard exist?  (Read 3001 times)

Offline gcogger

Does my ideal keyboard exist?
« on: Sun, 14 March 2010, 11:25:43 »
I'm starting to think the keyboard I want does not exist as a mechanical keyboard, which I believe is what I should be looking for. I'm not a great typist - I've gone beyond 2 fingers, but I certainly don't touch type. I will use it for gaming and, occasionally, for moderate typing (I'm a software engineer/programmer and sometimes work from home). What I need is:

Full 105 key UK layout. That's what I have to use at work, so I want my home keyboard to be the same.
Reasonable n-key rollover (say 5 keys min). I've had issues in some games with the 2-3 of 'normal' keyboards.
Either white/cream/silver, or with decently backlit keys. I struggle with most non-backlit black keyboards (lighter colours are OK) as I often game in lower light. I play games 'left handed', with my right hand is in the area of the number pad and cursor keys, and it's awkward when I need to use the rest of the keyboard.
From what I've read, it sounds like I'd prefer something like the Cherry Brown keys (or maybe Black?).
Available in the UK.

Do you guys think I'll be able to find what I need, or should I give up on looking for a mechanical? If not mechanical, which 'ordinary' keyboards are reasonable to type on and meet my needs?  Thanks.

Offline Mental Hobbit

« Reply #1 on: Sun, 14 March 2010, 12:01:47 »
Only match I can think of is the ridiculously overpriced Deck Legend. Current Cherry boards have only 2KRO. Filcos with UK layout and Steelseries are only available in black afaik. Actually I can't even think of a rubber dome that has decent rollover capabilities in the numpad area.

Things would be a lot easier if you could learn to game in the dark. Which I don't find exactly difficult on the numpad. (I'm left handed too.)
Typing on blues.

Offline gcogger

« Reply #2 on: Sun, 14 March 2010, 12:18:08 »