Author Topic: TMK keyboard firmware  (Read 818512 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline oTurtlez

  • DAT ZACKATTACK
  • Posts: 586
  • Location: Rhode Island
  • Fo' Realforce
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #100 on: Sat, 27 July 2013, 12:56:24 »
Hey there, just got everything all configured and got the firmware on my phantom but I've just got 1 question. It appears that my NKRO isn't working. I uncommented the NKRO_ENABLED line and remade the firmware, then proceeded to reprogram but it still only has 6kro. Any ideas? Thanks!

Also, is there any wake-over-usb function?
« Last Edit: Sat, 27 July 2013, 13:01:23 by oTurtlez »
TOO BAD FOR YOU

              Phantom 62g MX Whites    

Offline alaricljs

  • I be WOT'ing all day...
  • ** Moderator Emeritus
  • Posts: 3715
  • Location: NE US
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #101 on: Sat, 27 July 2013, 14:13:34 »
Far as I remember there is a command combo to enable NKRO that needs to be pressed.  It is not the default behavior of the keyboard.
Filco w/ Imsto thick PBT
Ducky 1087XM PCB+Plate, w/ Matias "Quiet Click" spring-swapped w/ XM Greens

Offline Soarer

  • * Moderator
  • Posts: 1918
  • Location: UK
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #102 on: Sat, 27 July 2013, 14:39:40 »
IIRC, NKRO is only impemented for the PJRC USB code, not for LUFA (it could be done with LUFA, but I don't think it's been written yet).

Offline oTurtlez

  • DAT ZACKATTACK
  • Posts: 586
  • Location: Rhode Island
  • Fo' Realforce
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #103 on: Sat, 27 July 2013, 14:51:42 »
IIRC, NKRO is only impemented for the PJRC USB code, not for LUFA (it could be done with LUFA, but I don't think it's been written yet).

I'm using the PJRC Makefile for the Teensy, so it theoretically should work.

And I did see somewhere there was a "Magic Command" for the letter "n" which enabled NKRO, but I couldn't find anything else on Magic Commands
TOO BAD FOR YOU

              Phantom 62g MX Whites    

Offline hasu

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 3471
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • @tmk
    • tmk keyboard firmware project
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #104 on: Sat, 27 July 2013, 21:13:03 »
Thanks guys, you are right.

To get NKRO feature available you need to compile with PJRC stack and press Magic command 'n'.(LShift + RShift +n)

oTurtlez, you're totally on the right way. But some system seems to cache your device configuration, your new configuration won't work until clearing old cache. At least Windows does chache.

If you are on those OSs try another physical USB port or remove driver completey in Device Manager.

BTW, I was struggling with NKRO on LUFA this weekend and it kind of works now after long stuck. It will be possible to make the code public shortly.

Offline hasu

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 3471
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • @tmk
    • tmk keyboard firmware project
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #105 on: Sun, 28 July 2013, 11:00:52 »

Offline bueller

  • MX baller
  • * Esteemed Elder
  • Posts: 3769
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Church of the Ergo Clear
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #106 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 08:03:26 »
Would any kind soul out there check my config.h and keymap.c files to make sure I haven't screwed anything up? Used the latest versions from the GH60 folder and stripped out the stuff I don't need, I only ever code in Java so hopefully I haven't stuffed it.
It's a good width!  If it's half-width it's too narrow, and full-width is too wide. 

[WTT] bueller's trade thread - CLACKS WANTED

Offline oTurtlez

  • DAT ZACKATTACK
  • Posts: 586
  • Location: Rhode Island
  • Fo' Realforce
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #107 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 08:51:05 »
Would any kind soul out there check my config.h and keymap.c files to make sure I haven't screwed anything up? Used the latest versions from the GH60 folder and stripped out the stuff I don't need, I only ever code in Java so hopefully I haven't stuffed it.

For the keymap at least, I'd make sure it's in a straight grid. See how your letters shift to the left? Make them line up. Not sure if necessary but it's been how I've been doing it and it works haha.

It also appears you have an extra TRNS in the top two rows of your function layer
« Last Edit: Fri, 02 August 2013, 08:53:34 by oTurtlez »
TOO BAD FOR YOU

              Phantom 62g MX Whites    

Offline bueller

  • MX baller
  • * Esteemed Elder
  • Posts: 3769
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Church of the Ergo Clear
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #108 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 08:59:33 »
Would any kind soul out there check my config.h and keymap.c files to make sure I haven't screwed anything up? Used the latest versions from the GH60 folder and stripped out the stuff I don't need, I only ever code in Java so hopefully I haven't stuffed it.

For the keymap at least, I'd make sure it's in a straight grid. See how your letters shift to the left? Make them line up. Not sure if necessary but it's been how I've been doing it and it works haha.

It also appears you have an extra TRNS in the top two rows of your function layer

Cool I'll modify the keymap, wasn't sure if I was supposed to be following the logical layout of the columns based on my wiring or not.

The extra TRNS is because I actually have a 15 column setup for a 65% board.
« Last Edit: Fri, 02 August 2013, 09:10:46 by bueller »
It's a good width!  If it's half-width it's too narrow, and full-width is too wide. 

[WTT] bueller's trade thread - CLACKS WANTED

Offline bueller

  • MX baller
  • * Esteemed Elder
  • Posts: 3769
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Church of the Ergo Clear
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #109 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 09:08:14 »
Oh wait, did you mean the extra spaces between the spacebar and mods etc? That shouldn't pose a problem, whitespaces are ignored by the compiler.
It's a good width!  If it's half-width it's too narrow, and full-width is too wide. 

[WTT] bueller's trade thread - CLACKS WANTED

Offline oTurtlez

  • DAT ZACKATTACK
  • Posts: 586
  • Location: Rhode Island
  • Fo' Realforce
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #110 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 09:15:42 »
Oh wait, did you mean the extra spaces between the spacebar and mods etc? That shouldn't pose a problem, whitespaces are ignored by the compiler.

Nah, I was talking about the TRNS between F2 and F3, and then the extra TRNS on the row beneath that. I've only used this for a phantom layout which is a bit easier to follow as it's more standard haha.
TOO BAD FOR YOU

              Phantom 62g MX Whites    

Offline bueller

  • MX baller
  • * Esteemed Elder
  • Posts: 3769
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Church of the Ergo Clear
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #111 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 09:25:15 »
Ah cool, I totally missed that! Keymap.c has been modified again to reflect the changes, also spaced it out a bit more clearly to illustrate the layout.
It's a good width!  If it's half-width it's too narrow, and full-width is too wide. 

[WTT] bueller's trade thread - CLACKS WANTED

Offline oTurtlez

  • DAT ZACKATTACK
  • Posts: 586
  • Location: Rhode Island
  • Fo' Realforce
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #112 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 09:51:18 »
Ah cool, I totally missed that! Keymap.c has been modified again to reflect the changes, also spaced it out a bit more clearly to illustrate the layout.



This is a layout of a GH60, it appears that you can only have 14 keys in the top row and you have 15? How did you plan on doing that 65% design?
TOO BAD FOR YOU

              Phantom 62g MX Whites    

Offline Tranquilite

  • Posts: 144
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #113 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 10:03:19 »
Wouldn't be surprised if top row supported split backspace.

Offline oTurtlez

  • DAT ZACKATTACK
  • Posts: 586
  • Location: Rhode Island
  • Fo' Realforce
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #114 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 10:03:57 »
Wouldn't be surprised if top row supported split backspace.

As of the GH60 thread final prototype PCB pics, it doesn't.
TOO BAD FOR YOU

              Phantom 62g MX Whites    

Offline alaricljs

  • I be WOT'ing all day...
  • ** Moderator Emeritus
  • Posts: 3715
  • Location: NE US
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #115 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 10:06:49 »
OP in that thread hasn't been updated, JD is busy... split BS is there in rev B(final):  http://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=34959.msg954327#msg954327

« Last Edit: Fri, 02 August 2013, 10:10:23 by alaricljs »
Filco w/ Imsto thick PBT
Ducky 1087XM PCB+Plate, w/ Matias "Quiet Click" spring-swapped w/ XM Greens

Offline bueller

  • MX baller
  • * Esteemed Elder
  • Posts: 3769
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Church of the Ergo Clear
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #116 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 10:08:10 »
I'm not actually building a GH60, this is for a custom build that I'm working on. Isn't it just a matter of setting the number of rows and columns in the config.h file?
It's a good width!  If it's half-width it's too narrow, and full-width is too wide. 

[WTT] bueller's trade thread - CLACKS WANTED

Offline Tranquilite

  • Posts: 144
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #117 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 10:08:42 »
Yeah I just verified that split backspace is supported in final prototype as well.

In the time it took me to go check the latest final prototype images, there have been two posts. This thread is rather active.

Offline oTurtlez

  • DAT ZACKATTACK
  • Posts: 586
  • Location: Rhode Island
  • Fo' Realforce
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #118 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 10:09:47 »
OP in that thread hasn't been updated, JD is busy... split BS is there in rev B(final):  http://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=34959.msg954327#msg954327

Ahh. Well, other than the top row, a 15 column design like he proposed is still not possible. If you'd like to stick to an ANSI layout, I whipped this up for ya. http://pastebin.com/kg7mx9QE

I'm not actually building a GH60, this is for a custom build that I'm working on. Isn't it just a matter of setting the number of rows and columns in the config.h file?

OHHHHH. *facepalm* Sorry man, I saw you used the GH60 file and thought you were building a GH60.
TOO BAD FOR YOU

              Phantom 62g MX Whites    

Offline alaricljs

  • I be WOT'ing all day...
  • ** Moderator Emeritus
  • Posts: 3715
  • Location: NE US
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #119 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 10:10:47 »
There's a whole lot more to getting a new design up and running than fiddling with the keymap..  Either you duplicate an existing matrix or you have to get the matrix details into matrix.c (which handles which pins are connected to which rows/columns) and also keymap.c:#define KEYMAP which maps the keymap into the matrix.

ed: and yes, as you noted there's a tiny bit about the matrix in config.h as well.
Filco w/ Imsto thick PBT
Ducky 1087XM PCB+Plate, w/ Matias "Quiet Click" spring-swapped w/ XM Greens

Offline bueller

  • MX baller
  • * Esteemed Elder
  • Posts: 3769
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Church of the Ergo Clear
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #120 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 10:12:37 »
There's a whole lot more to getting a new design up and running than fiddling with the keymap..  Either you duplicate an existing matrix or you have to get the matrix details into matrix.c (which handles which pins are connected to which rows/columns) and also keymap.c:#define KEYMAP which maps the keymap into the matrix.

Yeah that's not a problem, haven't bothered with the matrix changes yet as I'm wiring everything up tomorrow. Just want to get as much of a headstart as possible so that when it's wired up I can just plug and play.

EDIT: Here's a potato shot to show you what I'm working with.

« Last Edit: Fri, 02 August 2013, 10:25:22 by bueller »
It's a good width!  If it's half-width it's too narrow, and full-width is too wide. 

[WTT] bueller's trade thread - CLACKS WANTED

Offline domoaligato

  • * Exquisite Elder
  • Posts: 1672
  • Location: USA
  • All your base are belong to us!
    • All your base are belong to us!
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #121 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 10:42:52 »
looks great!

Offline bueller

  • MX baller
  • * Esteemed Elder
  • Posts: 3769
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Church of the Ergo Clear
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #122 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 10:55:14 »
Getting there, here's hoping my atrocious soldering skills don't hold me back tomorrow. I did upgrade do a decent soldering iron recently so hopefully that should make life easier.

OHHHHH. *facepalm* Sorry man, I saw you used the GH60 file and thought you were building a GH60.

No problem man, appreciate your help!
« Last Edit: Fri, 02 August 2013, 11:14:10 by bueller »
It's a good width!  If it's half-width it's too narrow, and full-width is too wide. 

[WTT] bueller's trade thread - CLACKS WANTED

Offline domoaligato

  • * Exquisite Elder
  • Posts: 1672
  • Location: USA
  • All your base are belong to us!
    • All your base are belong to us!
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #123 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 12:46:01 »
are you doing the lowpoly hardwiring method?
If so....
even though you can just solder the diode wires together for the rows. it is a lot easier and cleaner if you wrap the diodes around a piece of solid core wire like displayed in this wiki page...
http://wiki.geekhack.org/index.php?title=Hard-Wiring_How-To

It is of course all personal preference. I just found it easier for me.

Offline bueller

  • MX baller
  • * Esteemed Elder
  • Posts: 3769
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Church of the Ergo Clear
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #124 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 12:53:29 »
are you doing the lowpoly hardwiring method?
If so....
even though you can just solder the diode wires together for the rows. it is a lot easier and cleaner if you wrap the diodes around a piece of solid core wire like displayed in this wiki page...
http://wiki.geekhack.org/index.php?title=Hard-Wiring_How-To

It is of course all personal preference. I just found it easier for me.

Yup, lowpoly all the way! That's a decent idea with the diodes, I'm buying some bare tinned wire tomorrow so I might just do that.
It's a good width!  If it's half-width it's too narrow, and full-width is too wide. 

[WTT] bueller's trade thread - CLACKS WANTED

Offline domoaligato

  • * Exquisite Elder
  • Posts: 1672
  • Location: USA
  • All your base are belong to us!
    • All your base are belong to us!
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #125 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 13:14:05 »
I did it with alps switches not to long ago and it was a lot of fun.
I am sure you will get quickly realize why pcb's are preferred over hardwiring.
It is a lot of soldering :'(

Offline Charger

  • Posts: 168
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #126 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 13:27:28 »
I did it with alps switches not to long ago and it was a lot of fun.
I am sure you will get quickly realize why pcb's are preferred over hardwiring.
It is a lot of soldering :'(
ummmmm i would say same amount of soldering as with a pcb as without you still need to solder the switches, diodes, controller unless it is built into the pcb. it is how ever more work then just dropping in parts and soldering like it would be on a pcb

Offline domoaligato

  • * Exquisite Elder
  • Posts: 1672
  • Location: USA
  • All your base are belong to us!
    • All your base are belong to us!
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #127 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 13:32:26 »
with hard wiring I had to use helping hands a lot. it added quite a bit to the total time required.

Offline Charger

  • Posts: 168
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #128 on: Fri, 02 August 2013, 13:39:04 »
with hard wiring I had to use helping hands a lot. it added quite a bit to the total time required.
I was able to so it without helping hands in my build only thing that really slowed me down was stripping wire so it would only be exposed at the solder joint (more of an aesthetic choice then anything) that took a long time. I do think its far more time consuming in general then with a pcb unless you have to design the pcb have it made or made it yourself and then solder it all together that would still take more time then just hard wiring i think.
« Last Edit: Fri, 02 August 2013, 13:40:42 by Charger »

Offline agor

  • Posts: 282
  • Location: Germany
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #129 on: Thu, 08 August 2013, 13:16:52 »
Is it somehow possible to ignore the OS' language settings?
I want German ISO as default and a toggled layer with British ISO
Any ideas?
KBD8X II - MX 5000 - Realforce 88UB - Phantom - GH60

Offline alaricljs

  • I be WOT'ing all day...
  • ** Moderator Emeritus
  • Posts: 3715
  • Location: NE US
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #130 on: Thu, 08 August 2013, 13:30:33 »
Mostly no.  You can probably programatically force it but no one has written a firmware that makes it easy.  For instance:  shift+comma and shift+period produce difference results for German QWERTZ vs British QWERTY, however the keyboard is not sending different data.  The OS language setting is what determines the output of those key combos.
Filco w/ Imsto thick PBT
Ducky 1087XM PCB+Plate, w/ Matias "Quiet Click" spring-swapped w/ XM Greens

Offline agor

  • Posts: 282
  • Location: Germany
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #131 on: Thu, 08 August 2013, 14:52:56 »
Thats what I thought :(
KBD8X II - MX 5000 - Realforce 88UB - Phantom - GH60

Offline TD22057

  • Posts: 177
  • Location: Southern California
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #132 on: Thu, 08 August 2013, 15:09:18 »
Is it somehow possible to ignore the OS' language settings?
I want German ISO as default and a toggled layer with British ISO
Any ideas?

I think you need a combination keyboard/OS solution:    Have the toggle key send a key you're not using (one of the media keys or maybe pause or scroll lock), then run a macro app in your OS that toggles the language when that key is sent. 

Offline bueller

  • MX baller
  • * Esteemed Elder
  • Posts: 3769
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Church of the Ergo Clear
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #133 on: Thu, 15 August 2013, 05:34:42 »
Would anyone mind taking a look at my keymap.c file and to see why I'm getting the error below? I've modified the GH60 code to allow an extra column for my 65% design but I've obviously made a mess of it.

Code: [Select]
keymap.c:79:89: error: macro "KEYMAP_ANSI" requires 66 arguments, but only 62 given
keymap.c:74: error: 'KEYMAP_ANSI' undeclared here (not in a function)

Other files
config.h
matrix.c
makefile.lufa
It's a good width!  If it's half-width it's too narrow, and full-width is too wide. 

[WTT] bueller's trade thread - CLACKS WANTED

Offline bueller

  • MX baller
  • * Esteemed Elder
  • Posts: 3769
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Church of the Ergo Clear
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #134 on: Thu, 15 August 2013, 10:09:40 »
Ughhhh, I give up for the night. 3 hours playing around with this thing, restarted twice from scratch and every time I get more errors than my original post. Is there a base code simpler than the GH60 that I should be working off? I only need one default layer with a secondary layer for functions but I can't seem to get this working because the GH60 code is confusing the hell out of me.

EDIT: Here's my wiring diagram if it helps any.

« Last Edit: Thu, 15 August 2013, 10:18:26 by bueller »
It's a good width!  If it's half-width it's too narrow, and full-width is too wide. 

[WTT] bueller's trade thread - CLACKS WANTED

Offline alaricljs

  • I be WOT'ing all day...
  • ** Moderator Emeritus
  • Posts: 3715
  • Location: NE US
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #135 on: Thu, 15 August 2013, 10:38:00 »
Lines 74-78 you are missing a trailing comma on the last key definition.

Code: [Select]
           ESC, 1,   2,   3,   4,   5,   6,   7,   8,   9,   0,   MINS,EQL, BSPC, PSCR      \
           TAB,  Q,   W,   E,   R,   T,   Y,   U,   I,   O,   P,   LBRC,RBRC,BSLS, DEL      \
           LCTL,  A,   S,   D,   F,   G,   H,   J,   K,   L,   SCLN,  QUOT,   ENT,  6       \
           LSFT,   Z,   X,   C,   V,   B,   N,   M, COMM, DOT, SLSH,    RSFT,  UP,  APP     \
           LWIN,LALT,            SPC,                       CAPS,  FN0, LEFT, DOWN, RGHT),
should be:
Code: [Select]
           ESC, 1,   2,   3,   4,   5,   6,   7,   8,   9,   0,   MINS,EQL, BSPC, PSCR,      \
           TAB,  Q,   W,   E,   R,   T,   Y,   U,   I,   O,   P,   LBRC,RBRC,BSLS, DEL,      \
           LCTL,  A,   S,   D,   F,   G,   H,   J,   K,   L,   SCLN,  QUOT,   ENT,  6,       \
           LSFT,   Z,   X,   C,   V,   B,   N,   M, COMM, DOT, SLSH,    RSFT,  UP,  APP,     \
           LWIN,LALT,            SPC,                       CAPS,  FN0, LEFT, DOWN, RGHT),
Filco w/ Imsto thick PBT
Ducky 1087XM PCB+Plate, w/ Matias "Quiet Click" spring-swapped w/ XM Greens

Offline oTurtlez

  • DAT ZACKATTACK
  • Posts: 586
  • Location: Rhode Island
  • Fo' Realforce
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #136 on: Thu, 15 August 2013, 10:43:23 »
Lines 74-78 you are missing a trailing comma on the last key definition.

Code: [Select]
           ESC, 1,   2,   3,   4,   5,   6,   7,   8,   9,   0,   MINS,EQL, BSPC, PSCR      \
           TAB,  Q,   W,   E,   R,   T,   Y,   U,   I,   O,   P,   LBRC,RBRC,BSLS, DEL      \
           LCTL,  A,   S,   D,   F,   G,   H,   J,   K,   L,   SCLN,  QUOT,   ENT,  6       \
           LSFT,   Z,   X,   C,   V,   B,   N,   M, COMM, DOT, SLSH,    RSFT,  UP,  APP     \
           LWIN,LALT,            SPC,                       CAPS,  FN0, LEFT, DOWN, RGHT),
should be:
Code: [Select]
           ESC, 1,   2,   3,   4,   5,   6,   7,   8,   9,   0,   MINS,EQL, BSPC, PSCR,      \
           TAB,  Q,   W,   E,   R,   T,   Y,   U,   I,   O,   P,   LBRC,RBRC,BSLS, DEL,      \
           LCTL,  A,   S,   D,   F,   G,   H,   J,   K,   L,   SCLN,  QUOT,   ENT,  6,       \
           LSFT,   Z,   X,   C,   V,   B,   N,   M, COMM, DOT, SLSH,    RSFT,  UP,  APP,     \
           LWIN,LALT,            SPC,                       CAPS,  FN0, LEFT, DOWN, RGHT),

That would account for the four missing switches! Good eye! Can't believe I missed that :))
TOO BAD FOR YOU

              Phantom 62g MX Whites    

Offline bueller

  • MX baller
  • * Esteemed Elder
  • Posts: 3769
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Church of the Ergo Clear
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #137 on: Thu, 15 August 2013, 10:46:12 »
Cheers guys, we have lift off! I've actually had another error as well regarding the windows key, I had it mapped as LWIN but I'm guessing it should be LGUI instead. Got it compiled anyway so fingers crossed it works after I upload it :)
It's a good width!  If it's half-width it's too narrow, and full-width is too wide. 

[WTT] bueller's trade thread - CLACKS WANTED

Offline alaricljs

  • I be WOT'ing all day...
  • ** Moderator Emeritus
  • Posts: 3715
  • Location: NE US
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #138 on: Thu, 15 August 2013, 10:54:20 »
Ya, that's LGUI.  Windows is trademarked and such ;)
Filco w/ Imsto thick PBT
Ducky 1087XM PCB+Plate, w/ Matias "Quiet Click" spring-swapped w/ XM Greens

Offline bueller

  • MX baller
  • * Esteemed Elder
  • Posts: 3769
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Church of the Ergo Clear
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #139 on: Thu, 15 August 2013, 11:08:42 »
Well it works, kind of. Seems like I'm getting some weird shorts all over the place :(

Biggest problem at the moment seems to be that when I hit any letter in bottom alpha row I get characters displayed from all rows in that column. So B produces %TGB etc. Should I just desolder the whole row and start again?

EDIT: More problems than I first thought, looks like my shift is always on and for some reason my left shift is acting as a TAB key.
« Last Edit: Thu, 15 August 2013, 11:32:46 by bueller »
It's a good width!  If it's half-width it's too narrow, and full-width is too wide. 

[WTT] bueller's trade thread - CLACKS WANTED

Offline hasu

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 3471
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • @tmk
    • tmk keyboard firmware project
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #140 on: Thu, 15 August 2013, 11:45:48 »
Is there a base code simpler than the GH60 that I should be working off?

1x1 matrix keyboard :) This may help.
https://github.com/tmk/tmk_keyboard/tree/onekey/keyboard/onekey

Offline bueller

  • MX baller
  • * Esteemed Elder
  • Posts: 3769
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Church of the Ergo Clear
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #141 on: Thu, 15 August 2013, 11:48:06 »
Is there a base code simpler than the GH60 that I should be working off?

1x1 matrix keyboard :) This may help.
https://github.com/tmk/tmk_keyboard/tree/onekey/keyboard/onekey

All good mate, I've got it going now  ;D

Just played around with the wiring on my micro-controller and it appears to just be a dodgy solder joint so hopefully I should get this fixed tomorrow!
« Last Edit: Thu, 15 August 2013, 11:52:04 by bueller »
It's a good width!  If it's half-width it's too narrow, and full-width is too wide. 

[WTT] bueller's trade thread - CLACKS WANTED

Offline oTurtlez

  • DAT ZACKATTACK
  • Posts: 586
  • Location: Rhode Island
  • Fo' Realforce
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #142 on: Thu, 15 August 2013, 12:59:17 »
Any thoughts of supporting Ergo-Dox's?
TOO BAD FOR YOU

              Phantom 62g MX Whites    

Offline TD22057

  • Posts: 177
  • Location: Southern California
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #143 on: Thu, 15 August 2013, 13:26:49 »
Any thoughts of supporting Ergo-Dox's?

I started add I2C support but it was really slow (on my keyboard, it dropped the matrix scan from 1700 Hz to below 100 Hz).  I think I'm doing something wrong as Ben's ergodox firmware does better than that but I can't figure out what it is.  I decided to just direct wire the two halves together (using 2 ultra thin 30ga cat 5 cables) so I'm not working on the I2C anymore.  I'd be happy to let someone else take over my code if they want to try to make it work.  I started from Ben's code and mixed in some of the lufa/twi code (in hasu's drivers directory) with my own take on the UI. 


Offline StrikeEagleCC

  • Posts: 31
  • Location: Pyeongtaek, ROK
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #144 on: Tue, 03 September 2013, 07:58:09 »
Has anyone implemented this firmware for a 104/105 key board? I'm trying to understand how to utilize the num lock, but I've been unable to find any examples. I know I can just define a separate layer or two and use a fn key to switch to it, but isn't this different from the traditional (OEM) implementation, since the OS is normally aware of the num lock status as it is with caps or scroll lock? Is there a way to do it that can be set by the BIOS/UEFI e.g., "Num-Lock status on POST"? I'll save configuring the LEDs for later.
A better example of how your keyboard works:
More
It's expandable and ~25 seconds long.



Offline domoaligato

  • * Exquisite Elder
  • Posts: 1672
  • Location: USA
  • All your base are belong to us!
    • All your base are belong to us!
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #145 on: Tue, 03 September 2013, 08:08:41 »
From keycode.h
 #define KC_NLCK KC_NUMLOCK

Sorry on phone tapatalk...

Offline jdcarpe

  • * Curator
  • Posts: 8852
  • Location: Odessa, TX
  • Live long, and prosper.
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #146 on: Tue, 03 September 2013, 08:27:19 »
As domo said, you simply define your keymap.c to include the NLCK key in its normal position in the keymap. If the BIOS sets NUMLOCK to ON on POST, it should work the same with any keyboard firmware, including the TMK firmware.
KMAC :: LZ-GH :: WASD CODE :: WASD v2 :: GH60 :: Alps64 :: JD45 :: IBM Model M :: IBM 4704 "Pingmaster"

http://jd40.info :: http://jd45.info


in memoriam

"When I was a kid, I used to take things apart and never put them back together."

Offline StrikeEagleCC

  • Posts: 31
  • Location: Pyeongtaek, ROK
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #147 on: Tue, 03 September 2013, 08:34:07 »
Thanks Domo. That's not exactly what I'm looking for though. Let's say that my default keypad layer looks like this in keymap.c:

NLCK,PSLS,PAST,PMNS,
  P7,  P8,  P9,
  P4,  P5,  P6,PPLS,
  P1,  P2,  P3,
  P0     ,PDOT,PENT,


If num lock is off, and I use these keys, will the OS/firmware automatically use them for home/end, pgup/pgdn, del/ins without having to define a separate layer? Is that what the keypad specific keycodes are for?
« Last Edit: Tue, 03 September 2013, 08:42:32 by StrikeEagleCC »
A better example of how your keyboard works:
More
It's expandable and ~25 seconds long.



Offline jdcarpe

  • * Curator
  • Posts: 8852
  • Location: Odessa, TX
  • Live long, and prosper.
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #148 on: Tue, 03 September 2013, 08:44:47 »
Thanks Domo. That's not exactly what I'm looking for though. Let's say that my default keypad layer looks like this in keymap.c:

NLCK,PSLS,PAST,PMNS,
  P7,  P8,  P9,
  P4,  P5,  P6,PPLS,
  P1,  P2,  P3,
  P0     ,PDOT,PENT,


If num lock is off, and I use these keys, will the OS/firmware automatically use them for home/end, pgup/pgdn, del/ins without having to define a separate layer? Is that what the keypad specific keycodes are for?

Yes, that is correct. They will behave as normal for numpad keys.
KMAC :: LZ-GH :: WASD CODE :: WASD v2 :: GH60 :: Alps64 :: JD45 :: IBM Model M :: IBM 4704 "Pingmaster"

http://jd40.info :: http://jd45.info


in memoriam

"When I was a kid, I used to take things apart and never put them back together."

Offline StrikeEagleCC

  • Posts: 31
  • Location: Pyeongtaek, ROK
Re: TMK keyboard firmware
« Reply #149 on: Tue, 03 September 2013, 08:50:58 »
Great. Thank you!
« Last Edit: Wed, 04 September 2013, 09:27:02 by StrikeEagleCC »
A better example of how your keyboard works:
More
It's expandable and ~25 seconds long.