Author Topic: Firmware for Atmega32a?  (Read 4286 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline aaronz8

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 27
Firmware for Atmega32a?
« on: Tue, 17 February 2015, 13:53:32 »
It seems that most of the Korean custom keyboards (except GON's Nerds) use the outdated Atmega32a, which does not have hardware usb support and thus relies on V-USB to provide software usb support. TMK, Soarer, and EasyAVR all don't support V-USB currently - ps2avru is the only option I've found so far.

Does anyone know of any other firmware that can be used for the Atmega32a/V-USB circuit? Ps2avru does not work well for me in Mac OSX as it skips and/or repeats keys, so right now my Sprit FaceW 60% is basically a paperweight for me :(

Offline hasu

  • Posts: 3472
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • @tmk
    • tmk keyboard firmware project
Re: Firmware for Atmega32a?
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 17 February 2015, 16:19:41 »
You can use V-USB with tmk and also find many keyboard projects using it.

https://github.com/tmk/tmk_keyboard/blob/master/doc/other_projects.md

Offline metalliqaz

  • * Maker
  • Posts: 4951
  • Location: the Making Stuff subforum
  • Leopold fanboy
Re: Firmware for Atmega32a?
« Reply #2 on: Tue, 17 February 2015, 16:51:08 »
I'm sorry you've had so much trouble with your board.  For what it's worth I have a few ps2avr boards and they work fine.  It's generally a well regarded firmware, I think.  Unfortunately, English language support is pretty poor.

You can use V-USB with tmk and also find many keyboard projects using it.

https://github.com/tmk/tmk_keyboard/blob/master/doc/other_projects.md

That's a useful collection of links.  nice

Offline aaronz8

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 27
Re: Firmware for Atmega32a?
« Reply #3 on: Tue, 17 February 2015, 16:56:48 »
Thanks hasu! That links helps a lot.

@metalliqaz, have you tried your boards with Mac? Now that I think about it, mine worked with Mac just fine for a few days but the symptoms progressively got worse (at first, 100% working, then only replugging fixed it, then nothing). However I've tested with Linux and Windows on the same computer + several other computers and they've all worked 100%.

Offline metalliqaz

  • * Maker
  • Posts: 4951
  • Location: the Making Stuff subforum
  • Leopold fanboy
Re: Firmware for Atmega32a?
« Reply #4 on: Tue, 17 February 2015, 17:14:24 »
I have no contact with Macs either at home or at work. :(

Offline aaronz8

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 27
Re: Firmware for Atmega32a?
« Reply #5 on: Tue, 17 February 2015, 19:27:44 »
I have no contact with Macs either at home or at work. :(

Ah, thanks anyways!

Offline hasu

  • Posts: 3472
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • @tmk
    • tmk keyboard firmware project
Re: Firmware for Atmega32a?
« Reply #6 on: Tue, 17 February 2015, 19:54:57 »
Ps2avru does not work well for me in Mac OSX as it skips and/or repeats keys, so right now my Sprit FaceW 60% is basically a paperweight for me :(

Hmm, it smells to me like it is SET_IDLE problem which I had experienced on my firmware ago.
I browsed supposed related code of ps2avrU and I found this commit. I can NOT read Korean but it smees like this may be related to your problem.

https://github.com/showjean/ps2avrU/commit/fe4ca4863ac7e94ce1879bcc6cb96e4dce75946e

Did you try the latest code? Note that that fix checked in just three days ago.

EDIT: I can -> I can NOT :)
« Last Edit: Tue, 17 February 2015, 19:56:33 by hasu »

Offline hasu

  • Posts: 3472
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • @tmk
    • tmk keyboard firmware project
Re: Firmware for Atmega32a?
« Reply #7 on: Tue, 17 February 2015, 20:03:25 »
Oh, you opened an issue on github.
https://github.com/showjean/ps2avrU/issues/3

Mabybe he/shed did/are woring on the issue for you. You should *watch* the repository! :D

I think you can test it and give feedback to the author.

Offline aaronz8

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 27
Re: Firmware for Atmega32a?
« Reply #8 on: Tue, 17 February 2015, 20:11:43 »
Ps2avru does not work well for me in Mac OSX as it skips and/or repeats keys, so right now my Sprit FaceW 60% is basically a paperweight for me :(

Hmm, it smells to me like it is SET_IDLE problem which I had experienced on my firmware ago.
I browsed supposed related code of ps2avrU and I found this commit. I can NOT read Korean but it smees like this may be related to your problem.

https://github.com/showjean/ps2avrU/commit/fe4ca4863ac7e94ce1879bcc6cb96e4dce75946e

Did you try the latest code? Note that that fix checked in just three days ago.

EDIT: I can -> I can NOT :)

Thanks for the hint! I will try to see if SET_IDLE is the problem, and flash the most recently updated code to see if it fixes it.

Offline aaronz8

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 27
Re: Firmware for Atmega32a?
« Reply #9 on: Tue, 17 February 2015, 20:42:30 »
Awesome, that update fixed the problem! I actually was watching the repository, but since the issue was not closed I wasn't aware that showjean had finished fixing it.

However, there was a trick I had to use in order to get it to work. After flashing, I had to plug in the keyboard while pressing "u" key for the fix to apply. Not sure why, but I've asked in the github issue for future reference. Thanks hasu and everyone else for the help!

Github issue: https://github.com/showjean/ps2avrU/issues/3

Offline hasu

  • Posts: 3472
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • @tmk
    • tmk keyboard firmware project
Re: Firmware for Atmega32a?
« Reply #10 on: Tue, 17 February 2015, 23:19:13 »
https://github.com/showjean/ps2avrU/blob/master/source/main.c#L207

During plugin or booting press U to force keyboard USB mode or press P for PS/2 mode, this setting is stored in EEPROM, so you don't need to care about this anymore. And pressing both U and P  keybard goes into auto detect mode.

Other boot keys are M, 1, 2 and 3. M starts keymapper and you can chang repeating rate of PS/2 by numeric keys.

I don't know what keymapper is used for, but you can find documentation anywhere perhaps. Or you can just ask seller. If those both don't work for you, you can still read source fortunately :p

Offline aaronz8

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 27
Re: Firmware for Atmega32a?
« Reply #11 on: Wed, 18 February 2015, 16:41:48 »
https://github.com/showjean/ps2avrU/blob/master/source/main.c#L207

During plugin or booting press U to force keyboard USB mode or press P for PS/2 mode, this setting is stored in EEPROM, so you don't need to care about this anymore. And pressing both U and P  keybard goes into auto detect mode.

Other boot keys are M, 1, 2 and 3. M starts keymapper and you can chang repeating rate of PS/2 by numeric keys.

I don't know what keymapper is used for, but you can find documentation anywhere perhaps. Or you can just ask seller. If those both don't work for you, you can still read source fortunately :p

That makes sense. Thank you!

(keymapper mode just outputs -(column),(row)= like -5,1= whenever a key is pressed. Useful for the online keymap utility.)

Offline vivalarevolución

  • Posts: 2146
  • Location: Naptown, Indiana, USA
  • Keep it real b/c any other way is too stressful
Re: Firmware for Atmega32a?
« Reply #12 on: Sun, 01 March 2015, 12:37:52 »
Wish I had some gif or quote for this space, but I got nothing

Offline aaronz8

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 27
Re: Firmware for Atmega32a?
« Reply #13 on: Sun, 01 March 2015, 16:15:29 »
Is this thread relevant?

https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=38406.0

Not sure but I think Aikon is only for certain boards (not configurable). Thanks!

Offline vivalarevolución

  • Posts: 2146
  • Location: Naptown, Indiana, USA
  • Keep it real b/c any other way is too stressful
Re: Firmware for Atmega32a?
« Reply #14 on: Sun, 01 March 2015, 17:16:04 »
Is this thread relevant?

https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=38406.0

Not sure but I think Aikon is only for certain boards (not configurable). Thanks!


I should note that I have a keyboard with an Atmega32A controller, and it has Aikon firmware.  Thanks why I shared the link.
Wish I had some gif or quote for this space, but I got nothing