Author Topic: The Metal Dragon - A Custom Phantom keyboard  (Read 70036 times)

Offline geniekid

The Metal Dragon - A Custom Phantom keyboard
« on: Sun, 02 November 2014, 12:20:48 »
89359-0
Flickr album here

This is a project I've been working on for the last six months.  At the time I had just completed my QFR modification project and I decided I wanted to build a keyboard by myself.  After looking for various parts for months and trying to convince myself that I could live with this or that compromise I was forced to face the terrible truth – my endgame keyboard is never going to be made by anyone other than myself.  The equally terrible counterpart to that truth is the realization that I did not have the technical skills to get there.

Well, every journey has to start somewhere.  I'm a pretty bright guy (and modest too) so I decided I would develop the skills I lacked.  I would take a pragmatic approach and make one or more *middle-game* keyboards, advancing myself each time.  The Metal Dragon is the first milestone of my journey.

It is a Phantom keyboard with an anodized aluminum case and a stainless steel plate top.  It was designed in eMachineShop's software and cut/milled by eMachineShop as well.  Anodizing was done by a Anotone, a local Chicago shop.

81418-1

I knew I wanted a keyboard where the plate was the top cover as well.  I really like the aesthetic and the simplicity that comes from this design characteristic and it makes cleaning easier too.  I considered using aluminum 6061 for the plate but since the PCB would be fixed to the case via the plate on top instead of via standoffs on the bottom I was concerned about rigidity.  I decided to go with stainless steel.  The downside to using stainless steel is that it costs more to cut and it can't be anodized.

81416-2