Author Topic: Group Buy Visualiser  (Read 3877 times)

Offline bueller

• MX baller
  • * Esteemed Elder
  • Church of the Ergo Clear
Group Buy Visualiser
« on: Tue, 26 November 2013, 23:29:34 »
I've been thinking about the GB's section lately and I feel like it's becoming a little bit too difficult to keep track of what's going on in there with the levels of traffic that GH are getting. Obviously this problem is only going to get worse as time goes on so I'm hoping I can come up with a solution that would allow people to know at a glance what GB's are currently running and at what stage in the GB process. I've posted a bit of a mockup below to demonstrate what I mean, you'll have to forgive my skills; I'm a programmer not a graphic designer  :))

One of the biggest advantages to this is that I think it will mean people can quickly hit the drop down and see what's currently available for ordering, I know I missed out on several GB's in the first few months I was here because I was still getting the hang of hows things worked here. Another advantage is being able to get a visual indicator on the color scheme before even opening the thread.  We could add another drop down to filter based on GB type as well (keysets, PCB's, cases etc) which would definitely make items easier to narrow down.

Each image when clicked will take you to the GB thread and for GB's with multiple mockups or sets I'd loop through each image on rollover or do a popup dialog with the additional info. My web skills are limited to Google Web Toolkit and I'm happy to write it using that but I'm open to suggestions if someone wants to give me a hand. I should be able to handle hosting as well seeing as traffic shouldn't be too crazy.

What does everyone think?
« Last Edit: Wed, 27 November 2013, 02:14:12 by bueller »
It's a good width!  If it's half-width it's too narrow, and full-width is too wide. 

[WTT] bueller's trade thread - CLACKS WANTED

Offline YoungMichael88

• HHKB Wannabe