Author Topic: atmega32u4 no device present  (Read 5794 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Khuya

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 91
atmega32u4 no device present
« on: Sun, 19 June 2016, 05:38:09 »
I have been trying to flash the firmware on atmega32u4 with no success.

I ran

$ make -f makefile dfu
dfu-programmer atmega32u4 erase --force
dfu-programmer: no device present.
make: *** [../../tmk_core/rules.mk:424: dfu] Error 3

It keep saying no device present.  I did enter DFU mode.  Any idea what else am I missing?

Offline suicidal_orange

  • * Global Moderator
  • Posts: 4771
  • Location: England
Re: atmega32u4 no device present
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 19 June 2016, 06:35:27 »
What bootloader does your atmega have on it?
120/100g linear Zealio R1  
GMK Hyperfuse
'Split everything' perfection  
MX Clear
SA Hack'd by Geeks     
EasyAVR mod

Offline Khuya

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 91
Re: atmega32u4 no device present
« Reply #2 on: Sun, 19 June 2016, 06:42:52 »
« Last Edit: Sun, 19 June 2016, 06:44:40 by Khuya »

Offline Hypersphere

  • Posts: 1886
  • Location: USA
Re: atmega32u4 no device present
« Reply #3 on: Sun, 19 June 2016, 07:15:00 »
Which OS are you using? Have you installed dfu-programmer? Have you verified a working connection to the atmega32u4?

Offline TalkingTree

  • Posts: 2452
  • Location: Italy (142)
    • My projects
Re: atmega32u4 no device present
« Reply #4 on: Sun, 19 June 2016, 08:31:48 »
It keep saying no device present.  I did enter DFU mode.  Any idea what else am I missing?

What bootloader does your atmega have on it?
Caterina Bootloader, a true nightmare. Every guide I found on the internet didn't help.
I ultimately broke something and it's not recognized anymore in the device manager.

I wish you better luck.


My opensource projects: GH80-3000, TOAD, XMMX. Classified: stuff

Offline MOZ

  • KING OF THE NEWBIES
  • * Maker
  • Posts: 3981
  • Location: Jo'burg
  • Busy making stuff
Re: atmega32u4 no device present
« Reply #5 on: Sun, 19 June 2016, 12:08:34 »
The issue with that bootloader is that it stays in DFU mode for a very short time IIRC. You can have it stay there for 8 secs, just ground the rest pin twice quickly. A switch helps for this. Also, IIRC, out of the box, that bootloader uses serial communication, so you'll have to use avrdude. Try setting up the arduino environment and use this guide to test it, https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/pro-micro--fio-v3-hookup-guide

Offline a-c

  • Posts: 196
  • Location: USA
Re: atmega32u4 no device present
« Reply #6 on: Sun, 19 June 2016, 13:07:19 »

Offline Khuya

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 91
Re: atmega32u4 no device present
« Reply #7 on: Sun, 19 June 2016, 13:25:13 »
Thanks everyone, climbalima point me to AVRDUDESS and it's working now! :thumb:  my first 20% is done.  Now just need to wait for the trrs cable to arrive to connect the two halves :p

Offline Charger

  • Posts: 168
Re: atmega32u4 no device present
« Reply #8 on: Sun, 19 June 2016, 16:29:50 »
The issue with that bootloader is that it stays in DFU mode for a very short time IIRC. You can have it stay there for 8 secs, just ground the rest pin twice quickly. A switch helps for this. Also, IIRC, out of the box, that bootloader uses serial communication, so you'll have to use avrdude. Try setting up the arduino environment and use this guide to test it, https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/pro-micro--fio-v3-hookup-guide
I just made a bat file to program my pro micros to make it less work. Short the pins twice then run the batch file works well