Author Topic: Need help with Topre RGB problem  (Read 159 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline typo

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 959
Need help with Topre RGB problem
« on: Fri, 17 May 2019, 15:06:36 »
Sometimes now the space bar fails to function but very randomly. what could this be and how can I fix it? Thank you

Offline hasu

  • Posts: 2893
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • @tmk
    • tmk keyboard firmware project
Re: Need help with Topre RGB problem
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 17 May 2019, 18:10:25 »
"falils to function" ...  how? you should describe more in detail.

Assuming the problem is not mechanical...

Change actuation point to green setting(modest) with pressing top right key?
I think you can change setting only for space bar with software Topre supplies if you need.

I guess unstable voltage of power line may cause. Turn off LED lighting, or plug-in to USB port with stable power supply.
TMK products:HHKB Alt  ⌨ConvertersAlps64FC660C AltFC980C Alt

Offline typo

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 959
Re: Need help with Topre RGB problem
« Reply #2 on: Fri, 17 May 2019, 20:47:34 »
I mean often when I press the spacebar I do not get a space but rather two words together. It just happened now. although I just remembered I cleaned the board yesterday I may have hit the actuation switch.

Offline typo

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 959
Re: Need help with Topre RGB problem
« Reply #3 on: Fri, 17 May 2019, 21:16:48 »
It was indeed the actuation point I inadvertently changed when I cleaned the board. I type very lightly and do not bottom out on it. That is the nice thing about the RGB. A regular Topre you must bottom out to actuate it. At least the board is not broken. Problem solved.

Offline hasu

  • Posts: 2893
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • @tmk
    • tmk keyboard firmware project
Re: Need help with Topre RGB problem
« Reply #4 on: Fri, 17 May 2019, 23:11:58 »
Great.

Ah, you are right. Actuation point of the keyobard is configured to shallow 1.5mm(not 2.2 or 3.0mm) for all keys by default.
I didn't find the fact until read this manual today, my dumb fingers :-)

http://www.realforce.co.jp/en/support/download/REALFORCE_Software_Manual_EN.pdf
TMK products:HHKB Alt  ⌨ConvertersAlps64FC660C AltFC980C Alt

Offline typo

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 959
Re: Need help with Topre RGB problem
« Reply #5 on: Fri, 17 May 2019, 23:25:42 »
Actually the board is bad. It is going haywire. Good thing I purchased extended warranty.

Offline typo

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 959
Re: Need help with Topre RGB problem
« Reply #6 on: Sat, 18 May 2019, 04:29:57 »
Now, it seems to have fixed itself. It is the controller no doubt. Knock on wood.