Author Topic: How to put a new sensor into an old mouse?  (Read 2601 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Plautus

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 4
How to put a new sensor into an old mouse?
« on: Wed, 06 May 2020, 06:44:00 »
I have a Logitech m720. It's a business mouse.
Where can I Buy a sensor and how to put it in?

Offline suicidal_orange

  • * Global Moderator
  • Posts: 3740
  • Location: England
Re: How to put a new sensor into an old mouse?
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 06 May 2020, 07:01:41 »
If the sensor has died and you want to replace it look on the part to find a manufacturer and, hopefully, a part number, then you can look for datasheets and possible compatible upgraded versions.

If you want to upgrade it to a higher DPI you can't as the firmware wouldn't be compatible.  You could make a new circuit board that fits in the case if you like the shape and weight, there have been a few attempts at DIY mice so you would want to look at those to see what's involved.
                               
Ducky Zero, MX Reds    JD40, Jailhouse Blues           GH60
Soarer controller

Offline Findecanor

  • Posts: 4573
  • Location: Koriko
Re: How to put a new sensor into an old mouse?
« Reply #2 on: Wed, 06 May 2020, 07:15:26 »
Replacing the sensor with a better model is not something you just do. I don't think it would be worth it.
Maybe it would be possible if the old and new sensor chips are in the same series with the same pinout and interface protocol - but you would have to dive deep into datasheets to find that out.

You could perhaps buy a new mouse with the sensor you want and transplant it into your old mouse. You would probably have to mod both the old casing and new circuit board to make it fit If it would fit at all.
But yes, there are a few people who have done this - especially putting new innards from small optical mice into classic vintage mice.

Or you learn circuit design and programming, and make your own innards. But it would be a lot to learn, and not cheap.
There are small microcontroller boards and mouse sensor breakout boards out there, which you could connect with wires but those would probably still be bigger than the old circuits, especially with all the wire connections.
Or design your own circuit board, and have it made with a new sensor, new microcontroller and your own modified firmware to go with it.
« Last Edit: Wed, 06 May 2020, 07:18:39 by Findecanor »
Man must shape his tools lest they shape him
-- Arthur Miller

Offline Leslieann

  • * Elevated Elder
  • Posts: 2916
Re: How to put a new sensor into an old mouse?
« Reply #3 on: Wed, 06 May 2020, 20:59:16 »
You might get away with it if it was a cheap mouse, but I doubt you will get away with it on a Logitech.
I can't say how much (especially on an office grade mouse), but they do take the time to tune tracking to the lens and sensor.
Filco MJ2 L.E. w/hand milled Vortex case, custom feet/paint/winkey blockoff plate, HID Liberator, stainless steel universal plate, 3d printed adapters, Type C, sound dampened,  Thick PBT caps (o-ringed), Cherry Jailhouse Blues w/lubed/clipped Cherry light springs | HMMK TKL | Magicforce 68 | YMDK75 | KBT Race S L.E. | Das Pro (Costar model) | GH60 | IBM Model M (x2)