Author Topic: New to the scene and looking for some guidance  (Read 2678 times)

Offline Walshware

New to the scene and looking for some guidance
« on: Sun, 24 May 2020, 09:22:16 »
I am new to the keyboard scene, I have an idea for a keyboard and I’m looking for guidance/ to hire someone to help me. I know your replies will be stating how difficult it is to make any money in the keyboard business, but my idea is good enough that I need to look into this realm and try and see all my options. I know the very broad sense of the things I need but I am really lacking on the smaller details. I may even be willing to do a partnership if the fitting is right. I think it’s best if you have experience in playing a lot of video games, I think that one is an easy requirement to fill but also very necessary to understand the need for my idea in the first place.

Offline Leslieann

• * Elevated Elder
Re: New to the scene and looking for some guidance
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 25 May 2020, 04:20:21 »
Without knowing what you intend it’s a bit tough but my advice is always pretty much the same.

If you just want it made, regardless of who and how, start pitching it to designers they may take it up, otherwise it’s the same advice as always, can you do cad, can you program can you design a PCB, find those who can or better yet, start watching Youtube, it’s all there and you can do it yourself if you want. Got a 3d printer? Use it or  you can get plates cut locally pretty cheap with water or laser cutting, PCBs are easy enough to order and relatively cheap.

Where everything gets caught up is the case, use an existing if you can to work out what you can, at least at the start as there is a lot of little things needed before that. You need to understand tolerances and get a base starting point. A lot of CAD is working off existing files as much as you can, no need to redraw the whole plate once you have a pattern you can start from.