Author Topic: Looking for advice - Beginner  (Read 1967 times)

Offline 3jackdaw

Looking for advice - Beginner
« on: Tue, 29 December 2020, 23:06:31 »
Hello!

I have been a long time fan of keyboards, Well, typing in general but had never had enough knowledge or knowhow to further my interest. It has always been my understanding that keyboards are just an A or B kind of choice and recently just got into the whole spectrum of it.

As of the moment, I am using a MagicForce 68-Keys Mini Design Gaeteron Brown (60%)  which is I know, is very basic. I have been using this keyboard for almost 3 years now and never really put much thought into getting a new one until I discovered a certain sound from one of those ASMR youtube video. To satisfy my curiosity about that certain typing sound I have then bought some o-rings which is for softening the typing sound; but --- I legit thought I will be able to at least have a similar sound to that ASRM vid's keyboard.

Anyway, my question is or are...

Are there any keycaps or mods I can use to make my keyboard sound similar to this keyboard? I am well aware that my KB and that KB are very different not to mention diff type, model and brand.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8pBFfBZrbJM&t=26s

side note: I'm aware the specs are listed but I would also like to ask for alternatives if there are any.

If not then I am really interested in purchasing the Keychron k8.
I choose the k8 specifically not because of the sound but its layout which includes the INS,PU,DEL and PD keys.
Lastly, do you think its worth it to spend the extra money on the aluminum one? Will I be able to swap that out for a brass plate or something else in the future if I just get the plastic one for now?