Author Topic: Please recommend me a new keyboard with stiff switches.  (Read 1713 times)

Offline Viper2

Please recommend me a new keyboard with stiff switches.
« on: Mon, 04 January 2021, 23:50:16 »
Back in 2011, I bought a Thermaltake Meka G1 (Cherry Black) and used it for a few months. It was a good keyboard but I wanted something different, so I bought a Deck Legend - Frost (Cherry Clear). I have been using the Deck keyboard for over 9 years now, and even though it has been a great keyboard, I think it's time for a change.

I like keyboards with stiff switches because I have big heavy very strong hands. I'm thinking about going back to Cherry Black switches but I would really prefer to have LED lighted keys. IMO, LED lighted keys are just so much nicer. I do think the Cherry Black switches maybe felt a bit better than the Cherry Clear switches overall. The Cherry Black switches had a nice smoothness to them. I am also considering the Realforce Topre 55g (even though it's not LED lighted) but I feel like the Topre 55g switches may not be stiff enough for me. However, I am open to considering any types of stiff switches as long as the keyboard is extremely high quality as well.

What do you all recommend?

Thank you very much.
« Last Edit: Mon, 04 January 2021, 23:59:29 by Viper2 »

Offline Leslieann

• * Elevated Elder
Re: Please recommend me a new keyboard with stiff switches.
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 05 January 2021, 02:57:43 »
Topre 55g is not that heavy compared to Cherry MX, it's lighter than most MX switches out of the box, even light sprung switches.

You might want to try something like Gateron silent blacks, that will give a little bottom out damping. As for a board, honestly, your options are pretty terrible at the moment. A price range and layout would help, but again, selection at the moment is horrible.
Novelkeys NK65AE w/62g Zilents/39g springs
More
62g Zilents/lubed/Novelkeys 39g springs, HK Gaming Thick PBT caps, Netdot Gen10 magnetic cable, pic