Author Topic: USB cables?  (Read 1102 times)

Offline uncleangreen

USB cables?
« on: Fri, 21 May 2021, 10:36:08 »
Hi guys!

I'm new to the scene and have almost finished my first project. I've taken my 4 year old, £35, Aukey TKL mechanical keyboard and desoldered the outemu blues and resoldered some lubed gateron black (and lubed the stabs of course). I also added some thick foam beneath the PCB and changed out the keycaps and it feels incredible!

The last thing that I would like to do is get a nice cable - it currently has a plain black USB cable that is attached to the PCB with a 4 pin header but I can't find the type of cable that I need anywhere. I'd like to swap out the long, attached black USB cable for a USB C connector and then purchase a nice braided cable.

What I need to know is A) is this possible and B) what the hell is the cable connector called that I need to search for? It's driving me mad!

Thanks!

Offline TK0

Re: USB cables?
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 21 May 2021, 13:27:59 »
B) Maybe it's a JST connector. If you could, send some pics, it would be easier to identify.

A) It is possible if you want to DYI it yourself; since you already know how to solder, it shouldn't be difficult. You would need a USB C module and cables to connect the JST header to the module. You could also DYI the cables yourself, if you can find a paracord with a color you like. There are tons of tutorials on youtube.

Offline Leslieann

• * Elevated Elder
« Reply #2 on: Fri, 21 May 2021, 19:59:59 »
The type-C standard is a mess.
Technically type-C is just a connector but along with it comes a bunch of data and power standards, not all of which are standardized or backwards compatible.