Author Topic: New Keyboard (totally new to this)  (Read 11631 times)

Offline USAgent

New Keyboard (totally new to this)
« on: Mon, 17 October 2011, 10:51:21 »
Hey all,

Completely new to the forums, read around and watched YouTube a bit and I still am not sure what to do. I currently have a standard MS Media 3000 keyboard and was looking to get a 'gaming keyboard'. My issues with this one is that the F keys don't seem to work in games (F1-12 that is). I like the aesthetic of it, clean and simple. I don't like those crazy gaming keyboards with buttons all over the place, but looked at the Logitech G110 and it's a pretty simple design. I wanted something a little on the quiet side, not sure if it was Cherry Blue or Brown for mechanical as I'm new to it all. Just looking for some suggestions and appreciate the patience from you guys as I try to figure this out.
Filco MJ2 Ninja 104Ducky Disco TKL

Offline noodles256

• le legendary
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 17 October 2011, 10:58:50 »
wlcm
AF | Ducky YOTD |

Offline spolia optima

« Reply #2 on: Mon, 17 October 2011, 11:01:03 »
MX Brown switches are silent (tactile)
MX Blue switches are loud (clicky + tactile)
MX Black/Red switches are also silent (linear)

You want to check out Leopold, DAS, Filco, and WASD to begin with.
Looks like you're in the right place, too. Mechanical keyboards are known for their sleek, modern appearance. Most of us can't stand flashy, plasticky keyboards that basically look like toys.
keyboards!

Offline spolia optima

« Reply #3 on: Mon, 17 October 2011, 11:01:36 »
Also welcome to GH!!! Enjoy your stay and GIRD YOUR WALLET
keyboards!

Offline USAgent

« Reply #4 on: Mon, 17 October 2011, 11:04:29 »
I will check those out, just to make it easier:

Preferences:
Smooth typing as I don't use a headset and in games I typically type
Quiet is better than loud, I can't see it being too important, but I feel like the smoothness is nice