Author Topic: Looking for suggestions on MX Red switch keyboards  (Read 7598 times)

Offline Aerilith

Looking for suggestions on MX Red switch keyboards
« on: Tue, 10 January 2012, 02:07:11 »
Hi,

Recently I tried a keyboard with red switches, and now I have decided that I would like to buy one for myself.
When I first played around with the idea, I had the Noppoo choc Pro in mind - but I figure I'd gather a few suggestions and make a choice based on a more informed background.

I currently have a Razer Blackwidow using Blues. This is my first mechanical board, so I really have no grounds for comparison.
I quite like the build of this board, the caps feel rather solid and there's no noise other than the clicking of the switches.
I am no expert on keycaps, but I like the feel of the ones on the Blackwidow - I also tried a Choc mini (With POM I believe?) and quite enjoyed them.
I like having backlit keys, but if the boards sporting this feature are worse quality all-round, it's not a must.

So, do any of you have any suggestions as to specific boards using red switches?
I would especially like to hear from people who transitioned from using blues to reds, and their opinions - both board-wise and some of the "issues' they might've had at first.

Feel free to ask questions if I left something out.
Thank you!

~Ronni

Offline piken

« Reply #1 on: Tue, 10 January 2012, 05:59:22 »
Quote from: Aerilith;487122
Hi,

Recently I tried a keyboard with red switches, and now I have decided that I would like to buy one for myself.
When I first played around with the idea, I had the Noppoo choc Pro in mind - but I figure I'd gather a few suggestions and make a choice based on a more informed background.

I currently have a Razer Blackwidow using Blues. This is my first mechanical board, so I really have no grounds for comparison.
I quite like the build of this board, the caps feel rather solid and there's no noise other than the clicking of the switches.