Author Topic: Questions about spray painting?  (Read 12134 times)

Offline uJalled

• Shrimp cracker enthusiast
Questions about spray painting?
« on: Sat, 15 June 2013, 15:02:20 »
Hey, so it's summer now and a good season to work outdoors, so I decided to kick off with something I've never tried before- painting a keyboard case. To be honest, it's pretty nerve wracking, just because I run the risk of messing up my Filco TKL  :-[ . There are all sorts of threads on painting, but everything seems to say something different. Some people say a primer is necessary, others say no primer is necessary with Krylon Fusion, some say vinyl dyes are the best, some say sanding with only 400 grit is okay, while others say I have to use 400, 600 and 1000 grit. So many ways to mess up, it makes my head spin. For anyone that has done this in the past, can you share some tips and advice on spray painting a Filco? Also, if anyone has found a good spray painting thread, that would also be awesome.

Thanks!

Offline Leslieann

• * Elevated Elder
Re: Questions about spray painting?
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 15 June 2013, 15:17:03 »
I'm no expert (at all), but I can tell you that 600 and above is for working the paint after to remove orange peel, not prepping.

Plastic really needs special paint, my advice would be use whatever the can recommends.

Dye can work, but to really get it done right, but often the part needs to be boiled to get good penetration. This would warp a Filco. They can also turn out splotchy. Paint you can always sand off redo it.
Novelkeys NK65AE w/62g Zilents/39g springs
More
62g Zilents/lubed/Novelkeys 39g springs, HK Gaming Thick PBT caps, Netdot Gen10 magnetic cable, pic
| Filco MJ2 L.E. Vortex Case, Jailhouse Blues, heavily customized
More