Author Topic: Hi! Newbie, code crafting, gaming vet here  (Read 1430 times)

Offline Lipton

Hi! Newbie, code crafting, gaming vet here
« on: Sat, 22 March 2014, 18:02:09 »
I'm a front-end developer who use to game a lot, really getting into enhancing my profession by upgrading my keyboards lately :)

I've owned a Razer blackwidow with Cherry MX Blues for the longest time, and really wanted a mechanical for work. After a lot of research I decided on the WASD V2 87 keyboard with Brown switches and o-ring sound dampeners.

Screenshot of the design I choose

Out the box :)

At work:

At home:

I really REALLY love it :) What I like most about WASD is their design aesthetic. The keys feel like they were designed by someone in touch to the core on principles like the golden ratiohttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Golden_ratio. The lines and curves are all in the right place, everything feels tight and clean, nothing extra, nothing un-needed. I wouldn't say a minimal design, I would say the right design.

WASD also provides the most customization options from any company I've seen. I choose the keys with the light gray and dark gray colors because they really harken back / pay homage to the original mechanical keyboards, but have a very modern look.

My next project is going to be designing a 104 key WASD V2 with Cherry MX Green switches :) From what I've read they are just like the Blues, but with 30 more grams of force needed for actuation. That sounds like typing pleasure to me :D

Anyways hi!

Offline CPTBadAss

• Woke up like this
    • Tactile Zine
Re: Hi! Newbie, code crafting, gaming vet here
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 22 March 2014, 18:20:08 »
Welcome to GH! Nice setup! I'm also a fan of MX Greens ^__^

Offline Lipton

« Reply #2 on: Sat, 22 March 2014, 18:59:43 »
Thanks :) just watched another green switch video... something to look forward too

Offline hwood34

• underwater squad
  • * Exalted Elder
  • #1 CL stan
    • Keyboard Illuminati