Author Topic: Looking to Build a Mechanical Keyboard  (Read 1374 times)

Offline kaseys

Looking to Build a Mechanical Keyboard
« on: Fri, 05 June 2015, 16:58:47 »
Hey I am completely new to this but am looking to find a kit or just build myself a mechanical keyboard for my boyfriend for his birthday. Can anyone offer any guidance or suggestions of where to start looking?

Offline KatzenKinder

• * Maker
Re: Looking to Build a Mechanical Keyboard
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 05 June 2015, 17:00:37 »
As long as you know what you're getting yourself into! Building a keyboard from scratch will certainly be a task, but there are a lot of resources out there to help you get started.

Matt3o has a great guide here : http://deskthority.net/workshop-f7/building-a-custom-keyboard-from-the-ground-up-t5761.html

Offline Rotaku

• Too Based
« Reply #2 on: Fri, 05 June 2015, 17:02:35 »
If you could get a hold of the recent infinity 60% the just ended on massdrop, and then learn how to solder, that would be a great way to go! The infinity kit is also nice because all you need to do is solder the switches, and program the layout you want and you're good to go! No need to solder diodes or resistors :) that, and it's a great kit for beginners due to the pricing and all the stuff you get with it
Not toooo active on GH anymore, if you need me, shoot me a PM on Reddit! /u/IchibanXD

Offline kaseys

« Reply #3 on: Fri, 05 June 2015, 17:06:15 »
Rotaku, I can solder but anything for beginners would be the way to go for me! Do you have any idea how I can get my hands on that kit?

Offline Rotaku

• Too Based
« Reply #4 on: Fri, 05 June 2015, 17:10:04 »
Rotaku, I can solder but anything for beginners would be the way to go for me! Do you have any idea how I can get my hands on that kit?
You can either keep an eye on the classifieds over here on geekhack till a kit pops up (also over at /r/mechmarket), or you can just wait another month or two till the infinity kit drops again on massdrop!