Author Topic: Advice On Smoothing/Finalizing design in Clay?  (Read 1855 times)

Offline klaushouse

Advice On Smoothing/Finalizing design in Clay?
« on: Sun, 06 August 2017, 23:09:14 »
Hey all,

Brand new here but been inspired heavily by multiple threads in here on keycap making. I'm just starting to learn to use the clay and was wondering if anyone had advice or resources on how to get the detail and smoothness in the smaller format? I'm using Super Sculptey Firm, and find that after my design is done it looks ravaged and I'm having trouble going from my semi finalized product to something I'd be happy casting. Any advice would be awesome, this place is so cool I am glad I found it. :)

P.s. yes this is bigger than a Cap, I'm actually just making a cap "cover" for my Esc while I wait to do some more research on what silicon and resin I want to buy and order from Amazon. (I'm in Canada and I'm finding the suggested stuff is 4x more expensive and just a trial kit would cost me $300+. Hoping to find alternatives at reasonable price)

Offline breusch91

• * Maker
Re: Advice On Smoothing/Finalizing design in Clay?
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 07 August 2017, 00:28:06 »
You should use a rake toll (like a wire string) to move away and excess debris and flatten as much as you can. Then you can either spray very lightly with a solvent such as 90% alcohol and brush it a bit with a paint brush (use very minimal as it can get rid of some fine details if you use to much/go to hard), and/or you can just bake it then wet sand it afterwords.

Offline pkircher

« Reply #2 on: Mon, 07 August 2017, 00:56:17 »
lubricatet the tools with vaseline / petrolium jelly .. that will smooth the surface.

i usualy sculp with greenstuff or apoxy sculpt and that works just right