Author Topic: Did somebody say Wyse?  (Read 10963 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline whiskytango

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 576
  • Location: Birmingham, Alabama
  • Don't touch the trim
Did somebody say Wyse?
« on: Thu, 14 February 2013, 22:31:12 »
Our collection. It looks more impressive when you pile them all together. 15 total boards, 13 were still new in box. A few have already been desoldered / caps removed









« Last Edit: Thu, 14 February 2013, 23:57:08 by whiskytango »
I stay busy with work and family these days, but I'm still around, lurking.

Offline Reomero

  • Posts: 261
  • Location: New Zealand
  • Manual breather
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 14 February 2013, 22:50:57 »
mother_of_god.jpg :eek:

Offline precarious

  • Posts: 282
  • LOOK MOM, I'M A DRAGONZORD! DOOOO DODOODODODOODOO
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #2 on: Thu, 14 February 2013, 22:55:03 »
i know rootwyrm was looking for someone with a certain version of that TO-300, if you still have it.

Offline whiskytango

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 576
  • Location: Birmingham, Alabama
  • Don't touch the trim
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #3 on: Thu, 14 February 2013, 23:00:02 »
yeah I just took that pic tonight. We bought that TO-300 board from a member (precarious) here not too long ago. retrobrighted the keys, they didn't turn out too bad considering how yellow they were. Champloo has them on his keyboard now.

I guess I'll ask him if he is still looking for one...

« Last Edit: Thu, 14 February 2013, 23:05:31 by whiskytango »
I stay busy with work and family these days, but I'm still around, lurking.

Offline SmallFry

  • ** Moderator Emeritus
  • Posts: 3887
  • Location: Wisconsin, USA
  • Leaving 6/15; returning 6/22 or so.
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #4 on: Thu, 14 February 2013, 23:00:30 »
It would be a WYSE choice to give me a set of those caps. :) I might be willing to trade my rare stuff... depending on what's offered:D
« Last Edit: Thu, 14 February 2013, 23:02:20 by SmallFry »

Offline whiskytango

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 576
  • Location: Birmingham, Alabama
  • Don't touch the trim
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #5 on: Thu, 14 February 2013, 23:04:59 »
i know rootwyrm was looking for someone with a certain version of that TO-300, if you still have it.

Did we ever show you a pic of how they turned out after the retrobright? I'll have to take one and compare the before and after shots.

It would be a WYSE choice to give me a set of those caps. :) I might be willing to trade my rare stuff... depending on what's offered:D


Lol. We were thinking about selling them for $30 a set. Could possibly trade for cool stuff too. Half of them are Champloo's.
« Last Edit: Thu, 14 February 2013, 23:08:22 by whiskytango »
I stay busy with work and family these days, but I'm still around, lurking.

Offline The_Beast

  • * Maker
  • Posts: 3964
  • Location: Wisconsin
  • I like wood ಠ_๏
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #6 on: Thu, 14 February 2013, 23:11:27 »
Are these cherry made? I thought some were SP made.
Vendor Status: Sadly, not taking any orders/pre-orders at this time

Vendor Quick Links: | Vendor Forum | Hardwood Wrist Rests | Hardwood 60% Cases | Customer Gallery | Giveaway |

Offline whiskytango

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 576
  • Location: Birmingham, Alabama
  • Don't touch the trim
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #7 on: Thu, 14 February 2013, 23:14:09 »
Are these cherry made? I thought some were SP made.

It is my understanding that they are all SP. The caps are all thin doubleshots.
I stay busy with work and family these days, but I'm still around, lurking.

Offline jdcarpe

  • * Curator
  • Posts: 8854
  • Location: Odessa, TX
  • Live long, and prosper.
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #8 on: Thu, 14 February 2013, 23:14:59 »
Cherry definitely didn't make them. And SP didn't make keycaps for these vintage ones. The tooling is visibly different. I don't know who WYSE contracted to build the boards and make the keycaps, but I've always wondered. Surely there must be someone still alive who worked for WYSE back in the 80's who would know the secrets behind these mysteries.

If I could find a WY85 terminal for a reasonable price, I would definitely persuade you to sell me one of those NIB gate array boards.
« Last Edit: Thu, 14 February 2013, 23:17:11 by jdcarpe »
KMAC :: LZ-GH :: WASD CODE :: WASD v2 :: GH60 :: Alps64 :: JD45 :: IBM Model M :: IBM 4704 "Pingmaster"

http://jd40.info :: http://jd45.info


in memoriam

"When I was a kid, I used to take things apart and never put them back together."

Offline sth

  • 2 girls 1 cuprubber
  • Posts: 3438
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #9 on: Thu, 14 February 2013, 23:19:13 »
Lol. We were thinking about selling them for $30 a set. Could possibly trade for cool stuff too. Half of them are Champloo's.

nice price :)

all the wyse doubleshots were SP iirc. there may be some very rare exception to that rule but pretty much everything you'll find will be sp.
11:48 -!- SmallFry [~SmallFry@unaffiliated/smallfry] has quit [Ping timeout: 245 seconds] ... rest in peace

Offline whiskytango

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 576
  • Location: Birmingham, Alabama
  • Don't touch the trim
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #10 on: Thu, 14 February 2013, 23:23:56 »
Well you learn something new everyday. Yeah, I thought I had read that SP made the thin DS for Wyse, but I'll take your word for it jd. They do match up nicely with SP caps though. I have some on my QFR with RA2.0 for the mods. Kind of a funky color contrast but I like it. What would you do with a Wyse terminal, anyway?

I should add that jd has a set of these he got from us, so he has had a chance to inspect them up close.
« Last Edit: Thu, 14 February 2013, 23:26:23 by whiskytango »
I stay busy with work and family these days, but I'm still around, lurking.

Offline jdcarpe

  • * Curator
  • Posts: 8854
  • Location: Odessa, TX
  • Live long, and prosper.
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #11 on: Thu, 14 February 2013, 23:24:14 »
Is there somewhere you could point me to that has the history of Signature Plastics and their relationship with the WYSE Corporation? Just from looking at SP's modern keycaps and looking at vintage WYSE sets, I find it very hard to believe that both sets were made by the same company.

NVM, I got it. http://www.solutionsinplastic.com/about_history.html

Comptec must have been the company that made the keycaps for WYSE. SP's modern tooling is not as good, I would say. But that's just my opinion.
« Last Edit: Thu, 14 February 2013, 23:31:23 by jdcarpe »
KMAC :: LZ-GH :: WASD CODE :: WASD v2 :: GH60 :: Alps64 :: JD45 :: IBM Model M :: IBM 4704 "Pingmaster"

http://jd40.info :: http://jd45.info


in memoriam

"When I was a kid, I used to take things apart and never put them back together."

Offline jdcarpe

  • * Curator
  • Posts: 8854
  • Location: Odessa, TX
  • Live long, and prosper.
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #12 on: Thu, 14 February 2013, 23:27:09 »
KMAC :: LZ-GH :: WASD CODE :: WASD v2 :: GH60 :: Alps64 :: JD45 :: IBM Model M :: IBM 4704 "Pingmaster"

http://jd40.info :: http://jd45.info


in memoriam

"When I was a kid, I used to take things apart and never put them back together."

Offline whiskytango

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 576
  • Location: Birmingham, Alabama
  • Don't touch the trim
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #13 on: Thu, 14 February 2013, 23:50:14 »
Before and after shots of retrobrighting the TO-300 keys. When I compare these two pics I am shocked. I guess that stuff really does work

Before:

After:
I stay busy with work and family these days, but I'm still around, lurking.

Offline precarious

  • Posts: 282
  • LOOK MOM, I'M A DRAGONZORD! DOOOO DODOODODODOODOO
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #14 on: Fri, 15 February 2013, 06:45:44 »
Before and after shots of retrobrighting the TO-300 keys. When I compare these two pics I am shocked. I guess that stuff really does work

Before:
Show Image

After:
Show Image


that cleaned up really nicely!  i get the feeling that particular sample just sat in a box in a back room somewhere for the past 15 years, so maybe the conditions allow it to clean up more easily?

i was going to retrobright that board but never really got around to it, nice to see those looking a bit less yellow. :)

Offline calavera

  • Posts: 1713
  • Location: South Korea
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #15 on: Fri, 15 February 2013, 08:06:08 »
That room feels like it's a WYSE butcher room. Keyboard goes in, parts come out. :D

Offline whiskytango

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 576
  • Location: Birmingham, Alabama
  • Don't touch the trim
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #16 on: Fri, 15 February 2013, 08:39:13 »
That room feels like it's a WYSE butcher room. Keyboard goes in, parts come out. :D

Where terminal boards go to die... and some of them never even got a chance to live... mwahahaha

If I could find a WY85 terminal for a reasonable price, I would definitely persuade you to sell me one of those NIB gate array boards.

Here's an idea... the next one I desolder, I will be careful with the pcb. I will remove the switches and keycaps and ship you the rest. That way, if you find that you need it later, you can build up a terminal board with your beloved reds or browns :) You already have the keycaps (if you still have them). Just cover shipping
I stay busy with work and family these days, but I'm still around, lurking.

Offline jdcarpe

  • * Curator
  • Posts: 8854
  • Location: Odessa, TX
  • Live long, and prosper.
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #17 on: Fri, 15 February 2013, 08:58:57 »
Here's an idea... the next one I desolder, I will be careful with the pcb. I will remove the switches and keycaps and ship you the rest. That way, if you find that you need it later, you can build up a terminal board with your beloved reds or browns :) You already have the keycaps (if you still have them). Just cover shipping

Works for me! You know I still have the keycaps. :D
KMAC :: LZ-GH :: WASD CODE :: WASD v2 :: GH60 :: Alps64 :: JD45 :: IBM Model M :: IBM 4704 "Pingmaster"

http://jd40.info :: http://jd45.info


in memoriam

"When I was a kid, I used to take things apart and never put them back together."

Offline metalliqaz

  • * Maker
  • Posts: 4947
  • Location: the Making Stuff subforum
  • Leopold fanboy
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #18 on: Fri, 15 February 2013, 09:37:38 »
So awesome

Offline absyrd

  • CPT HYPE PADAWAN
  • Posts: 3258
  • Location: Philly Burbs
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #19 on: Fri, 15 February 2013, 09:39:52 »
One of the best retrobrite examples yet. And nice score on all the boards!
My wife I a also push her button . But now she have her button push by a different men. So I buy a keyboard a mechanicale, she a reliable like a Fiat.

Offline poxeclipse

  • Posts: 171
  • Location: Toronto, Canada
  • Hit me with music ... yes, me friend
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #20 on: Fri, 15 February 2013, 09:42:27 »
This reminds me ... I have to go in the attic, to see what my 10 Wyse keyboards are doing up there. I did retrobrite  a few, last summer, when it was hot and lots of sun. I could've taken the terminals too, for free, but I didn't know what to do with them.
I installed only two keycap sets, on a QFR and a Cherry G80-3000.
« Last Edit: Fri, 15 February 2013, 09:45:24 by poxeclipse »

Offline whiskytango

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 576
  • Location: Birmingham, Alabama
  • Don't touch the trim
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #21 on: Fri, 15 February 2013, 09:49:22 »
we pretty much followed this thread:
http://deskthority.net/workshop-f7/retrobright-madness-t667.html

Used a box lined with aluminum foil and a $10 blacklight from Wal-Mart. 40 vol clear developer (basically 15% hydrogen peroxide) from Sally Beauty supply. Added oxyclean powder diluted in some hot water. Left them in there for a few days. Stirred often. Soaked the keys in denture tabs first to get some of the dirt off.
I stay busy with work and family these days, but I'm still around, lurking.

Offline whiskytango

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 576
  • Location: Birmingham, Alabama
  • Don't touch the trim
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #22 on: Fri, 15 February 2013, 13:05:08 »
I posted some of these keys in the classifieds for those of you who are interested.
I stay busy with work and family these days, but I'm still around, lurking.

Offline zenuty

  • Posts: 577
  • Location: South of Korea
  • WTS : Duck, Pla, Acrylic 3 Pokers
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #23 on: Wed, 06 March 2013, 17:03:04 »
im recently know, Geek Hack G.B Basic font was WYSE !!!


Original WYSE necersally need WYSE moogle kit
LINE ID : zenuty
Skype ID : zenuty
www.facebook.com/zenuty

Offline jwaz

  • * based mod
  • Posts: 2069
  • #geekhack on freenode
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #24 on: Wed, 06 March 2013, 17:07:49 »
im recently know, Geek Hack G.B Basic font was WYSE !!!


Original WYSE necersally need WYSE moogle kit

That's because SP made the original Wyse sets

Offline jdcarpe

  • * Curator
  • Posts: 8854
  • Location: Odessa, TX
  • Live long, and prosper.
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #25 on: Wed, 06 March 2013, 17:19:48 »
im recently know, Geek Hack G.B Basic font was WYSE !!!


Original WYSE necersally need WYSE moogle kit

That's because SP made the original Wyse sets

Not exactly.

http://www.solutionsinplastic.com/about_history.html

Quote
The history of Signature Plastics began in 1973 with a company named Comptec. Comptec began injection molding and quickly became a leading manufacturer of two-shot molded plastic parts for customers world wide servicing the computer, telecommunication, electronic, automotive, medical and consumer products markets.

Signature Plastics was established in 2001 following a management buyout of assets and customer base of Comptec Inc. The products developed and technologies perfected during the formative Comptec years laid the foundation for Signature Plastics' continued success today resulting in over thirty years of plastic molding expertise.
KMAC :: LZ-GH :: WASD CODE :: WASD v2 :: GH60 :: Alps64 :: JD45 :: IBM Model M :: IBM 4704 "Pingmaster"

http://jd40.info :: http://jd45.info


in memoriam

"When I was a kid, I used to take things apart and never put them back together."

Offline kaiserreich

  • HHKB Elite
  • Posts: 880
  • Location: Malaysia
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #26 on: Fri, 08 March 2013, 06:23:03 »
Wyse decision to collect Wyse keyboards :P

Offline eth0s

  • Posts: 1137
  • Location: New York City
  • Peace & Love
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #27 on: Wed, 13 March 2013, 18:41:18 »
I dunno if it was a WYSE thing to do, but I started adding stuff to my Leo, and I ended up with this:

I ♥ Click Clack.  I ♥♥♥ Bro Caps.

Offline Acetrak

  • ssk.ℜ
  • Posts: 1079
  • Location: East
  • [Ctrl][Alt][Fn`]
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #28 on: Wed, 13 March 2013, 18:49:52 »
Nice clusters

Do you ever find it annoying to type on since your wasd is OEM profile while the rest of your keys are SP profile?
(ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧ HHKB 55g Type-S | LZGH 65g Blues | IBM SSKawa

Offline eth0s

  • Posts: 1137
  • Location: New York City
  • Peace & Love
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #29 on: Wed, 13 March 2013, 20:58:50 »
Nice clusters

Do you ever find it annoying to type on since your wasd is OEM profile while the rest of your keys are SP profile?

Yeah, from an OCD perspective it's incredibly annoying, but when actually typing, it's not really noticeable.  Although this is not my daily driver keyboard.  [girlDC keycaps are not the most practical keycaps either.]
I ♥ Click Clack.  I ♥♥♥ Bro Caps.

Offline whiskytango

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 576
  • Location: Birmingham, Alabama
  • Don't touch the trim
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #30 on: Wed, 13 March 2013, 21:49:13 »
I dunno if it was a WYSE thing to do, but I started adding stuff to my Leo, and I ended up with this:

That's almost as bad as this:



Oh and I finally got my WYSE moogle on, thanks eth0s:

I stay busy with work and family these days, but I'm still around, lurking.

Offline mushupork

  • Posts: 142
  • Location: Wisconsin, USA
  • I am not knowing
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #31 on: Wed, 13 March 2013, 22:14:53 »
Nyse Wyse :D

Is that a QFR or another case you painted? Did the 9 keys over the arrows come from a WYSE board?
Wanted:  Windowed capslock for a QFR

Offline whiskytango

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 576
  • Location: Birmingham, Alabama
  • Don't touch the trim
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #32 on: Wed, 13 March 2013, 22:26:03 »
Nyse Wyse :D

Is that a QFR or another case you painted? Did the 9 keys over the arrows come from a WYSE board?

Yes it is a QFR with stock blues. And the 9 key cluster did come from a wyse board. The rest of the wyse keys came from a different board though. I was too lazy to change all the caps, so I just changed out the 9 key cluster.

Breakdown of sources of the QFR keys:

Caps lock, L & R Shift, Enter, Backspace, |\, and bottom row: WYSE Moogle
9 key cluster: 840358-01 (PCE Terminal board)
Everything else: 840366-01 (WY85 Terminal board)

The rest of the keys from the 840358-01 are on the Rosewill pictured above. The mods on the Rosewill are RA 2.0. The space bar on the Rosewill is a WYSE that I picked up individually from another member here. The Rosewill also has ghetto greens. I am about 3 weeks into the ghetto greens experiment, and the jury is still out on those. To really test them, I guess I should take them to work which is where I do most of my typing, but my desk space is limited there which is why I got the QFR in the first place... and now I am in love with the TKL sized boards
« Last Edit: Wed, 13 March 2013, 22:31:19 by whiskytango »
I stay busy with work and family these days, but I'm still around, lurking.

Offline llovro

  • Posts: 229
  • Location: Slovenia
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #33 on: Mon, 01 April 2013, 06:07:46 »
Does Techkeys WYSE tsangan kit work with your WYSE sets?

Offline whiskytango

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 576
  • Location: Birmingham, Alabama
  • Don't touch the trim
Re: Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #34 on: Mon, 01 April 2013, 06:34:58 »
Does Techkeys WYSE tsangan kit work with your WYSE sets?

The color match is close but not perfect. You would still need more keys like back space, enter, /|, and the shift keys. And the 9 key cluster
« Last Edit: Mon, 01 April 2013, 06:37:51 by whiskytango »
I stay busy with work and family these days, but I'm still around, lurking.

Offline houlty

  • Posts: 8
  • Location: United Kingdom
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #35 on: Mon, 01 April 2013, 06:39:12 »
Before and after shots of retrobrighting the TO-300 keys. When I compare these two pics I am shocked. I guess that stuff really does work

Before:
Show Image

After:
Show Image


that bottom/after pic looks to be heavily desaturated going by the colours on the guide.

Offline whiskytango

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 576
  • Location: Birmingham, Alabama
  • Don't touch the trim
Re: Did somebody say Wyse?
« Reply #36 on: Mon, 01 April 2013, 07:14:03 »
That particular set is from a TO-300. The legends are black not blue and the greys are lighter than the usual wyse colors. In person, the modifiers on that set are about the same color as the alphas on the normal color wyse sets like the ones from my PCE, WY50, and WY85 sets

Edit: see what I mean? This is compared to a PCE set from 840358-01. Obviously the auto color balance of my phone camera does not really show how much lighter the TO-300 set is until you do a side by side comparison shot. But hey, they sure did get lighter/less yellow.


« Last Edit: Mon, 01 April 2013, 07:25:01 by whiskytango »
I stay busy with work and family these days, but I'm still around, lurking.